Counting Crows – August And Everything After (1993/2014) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Counting Crows – August And Everything After (1993/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 51:47 minutes | 2,11 GB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover | © Geffen Records

One of the most impressive and successful debut albums of all time, Counting Crows’ 1993’s August And Everything After spent a remarkable 93 weeks on the charts and is certified 7 times platinum. It also spawned the hits “Mr. Jones” (#5 Pop, #2 both Mainstream and Modern Rock), “Round Here” (#7 Modern Rock, #11 Mainstream Rock and Top 40 Pop), and “Rain King” (#4 Mainstream Rock) and a mammoth worldwide tour. Even before the album was released the group had filled in for Van Morrison at his induction to the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall Of Fame, and before the album charted, they played on “Saturday Night Live.” Such was the buzz for this band in ’93 and ’94, then came the explosion.

When the prevailing guitar jingle of “Mr. Jones” cascaded over radio in the early ’90s, it was a sure sign that the Counting Crows were a musical force to be reckoned with. Their debut album, August and Everything After, burst at the seams with both dominant pop harmonies and rich, hearty ballads, all thanks to lead singer Adam Duritz. The lone guitar work of “Mr. Jones” coupled with the sweet, in-front pull of Duritz’s voice kicked off the album in full force. The starkly beautiful and lonely sounding “Round Here” captured the band’s honest yet subtle talent for singing ballads, while “Omaha” is lyrically reminiscent of a Springsteen tune. The fusion of hauntingly smooth vocals with such instruments as the Hammond B-3 organ and the accordion pumped new life into the music scene, and their brisk sound catapulted them into stardom. On “Rain King,” the piano takes over as its aloof flair dances behind Duritz with elegant crispness. The slower-paced “Raining in Baltimore” paints a perfectly gray picture and illustrates the band’s ease at conveying mood by eliminating the tempo. Most of the songs here engage in overly contagious hooks that won’t go away, making for a solid bunch of tunes. Containing the perfect portions of instrumental and vocal conglomeration, the Counting Crows showed off their appealing sound to its full extent with their very first album.

01 – Round Here
02 – Omaha
03 – Mr. Jones
04 – Perfect Blue Buildings
05 – Anna Begins
06 – Time And Time Again
07 – Rain King
08 – Sullivan Street
09 – Ghost Train
10 – Raining In Baltimore
11 – A Murder Of One