The Afghan Whigs – Congregation (1992/2013) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

The Afghan Whigs – Congregation (1992/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 44:38 minutes | 0,99 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover |  © Sub Pop Records
Recorded: July–September 1991, Bear Creek Studios in Woodinville, Washington; Buzz’s Kitchen in Los Angeles, California; and Ultrasuede in Cincinnati, Ohio

Congregation was the Afghan Whigs’ breakthrough album and has been called the grunge era’s most overlooked masterpiece. The album was very well received by critics, and the band achieved a cult following, receiving offers from major record labels. They eventually signed with Elektra Records. Stylistically distinct from other Sub Pop grunge music, the album features songs with themes of pleasure and guilt, dysfunctional relationships and sexual deviancy.

The grunge era’s most overlooked masterpiece, Congregation was the Afghan Whigs’ breakthrough album, an incendiary and insidious set which bridges the gap between the noisy aggression of the band’s early releases and the soulful swagger of their later work. Slipping with ominous ease into the sinister, self-obsessed Lothario guise which would serve him so well from here on out, Greg Dulli announces his arrival as a truly magnetic presence — by turns predator (“Tonight”) and prey (“I’m Her Slave”), he’s the guy your parents always warned you about, delivering each syllable of his remarkable lyrics with equal measures of innuendo and venom. Equally startling is the Whigs’ musical growth — while still unmistakably a member of the Sub Pop stable, there’s a greater maturity and depth to their sinewy sound, with a newfound grasp of mood and nuance on tracks like the opening “Her Against Me” and “Let Me Lie to You” — the wah-wah guitar which dominates “Turn On the Water,” meanwhile, offers the first taste of the funk ambitions to follow. It was hardly a surprise when the Whigs jumped to Elektra soon after — Congregation was clearly their ticket to the big leagues. –AllMusic Review by Jason Ankeny

1 Her Against Me 0:47
2 I’m Her Slave 2:59
3 Turn on the Water 4:18
4 Conjure Me 4:03
5 Kiss The Floor 4:00
6 Congregation 4:27
7 This Is My Confession 3:13
8 Dedicate It 3:22
9 The Temple 4:06
10 Let Me Lie To You 4:36
11 Tonight 3:41
12 Miles Iz Dead 5:06

John Curley – bass, photography, vocals
Greg Dulli – producer, rhythm guitar, vocals
Steve Earle – drums
Rick McCollum – guitar, vocals
Miss Ruby Belle – vocals
Lance Ellison – piano, vocals
Rick and Bubba – vocals
Shawn Smith – background vocals, vocals
Shecky Stein – piano