Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Mariss Jansons – Dvorak: Stabat mater (2016) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Antonin Dvorak – Stabat mater – Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Mariss Jansons (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:16:13 minutes | 749 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Booklet, Front cover | © BR-Klassik
Recorded: München, Herkulessaal der Residenz, 24.–26.03.201

Dvorák’s haunting „Stabat Mater“ for solo voices, chorus and orchestra is not only the most famous work of church music by the Bohemian composer – it is also one of the most impressive ever settings of the medieval hymn in which Mary, the mother of Jesus, gives vivid expression to the pain she feels at the sight of her crucified son. The terrible misfortunes that befell the composer in his private life during the creation of this work may have been a reason for this. It is the continuous expression of deep piety, above all, that gives this music its special dignity. It was precisely this intensity that was conveyed by the concert on March 26, 2015 in the Herkulessaal of the Munich Residenz, where the four renowned soloists were in fine voice, and the Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks once again delivered the ‘crystal clear sound’ and ‘incredible three-dimensionality’ for which it is highly praised time and again. And the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, conducted by Mariss Jansons, performed Dvorák’s deeply moving music authentically, in keeping with the composer’s intentions: sensitively felt, yet with a resonant, magnificent sound.


Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)

Stabat mater für Soli, Chor und Orchester, op. 58
1 Nr. 1 Quartett und Chor: Stabat mater dolorosa. Andante con moto 17:31
2 Nr. 2 Quartett: Quis est homo, qui non fleret. Andante sostenuto 9:45
3 Nr. 3 Chor: Eja, mater, fons amoris. Andante con moto 7:03
4 Nr. 4 Bass-Solo und Chor: Fac, ut ardeat cor meum. Largo 8:17
5 Nr. 5 Chor: Tui nati vulnerati. Andante con moto, quasi allegretto 3:56
6 Nr. 6 Tenor-Solo und Chor: Fac me vere tecum flere. Andante con moto 6:36
7 Nr. 7 Chor: Virgo virginum praeclara. Largo 5:22
8 Nr. 8 Duo (Sopran und Tenor): Fac, ut portem Christi mortem. Larghetto 4:23
9 Nr. 9 Alt-Solo: Inflammatus et accensus. Andante maestoso 5:08
10 Nr. 10 Quartett und Chor: Quando corpus morietur. Andante con moto 8:12

Erin Wall, soprano
Mihoko Fujimara, mezzo-soprano
Christian Elsner, tenor
Lian Li, bass
Chor and Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Mariss Jansons, conductor