Swiss Piano Trio – Tchaikovsky: Piano Trios OP. 50 (2011) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Tchaikovsky – Piano Trios OP. 50 – Swiss Piano Trio (2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 50:38 minutes | 470 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover | © Audite Musikproduktion

In March 1881 Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky received the news of the death of his friend Nikolai Rubinstein whilst he was in Paris – a great blow for the composer who had been engaged to teach at the newly founded Moscow Conservatory thanks to Rubinstein. Tchaikovsky decided to dedicate a piece of music to his late friend – not a classical work for choir or orchestra but one for piano trio. The memory of Rubinstein evidently enraptured him to the extent that he burst all dimensions with his Trio Op. 50. Two monumental movements make up a memorial work which, however, also has optimistic moments. Following an ‘Elegiac piece’ is a set of variations with a duration of nearly thirty minutes which comprises a slow movement, scherzo and finale, all under the roof of a simple Russian theme. Technically, this trio presents a challenge to every piano trio.


Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

Piano Trio in A-minor, Op. 50 “In Memory of a Great Artist“
1 Pezzo elegiaco. Moderato assai – Allegro giusto – Adagio con duolo – Allegro giusto 18:56
2 Tema. Andante con moto 01:18
3 Var. 1 01:03
4 Var. 2. Più mosso 00:36
5 Var. 3. Allegro moderato 00:55
6 Var. 4. L’istesso tempo (Allegro moderato) 01:09
7 Var. 5. L’istesso tempo 00:45
8 Var. 6. Tempo di Valse 02:38
9 Var. 7. Allegro moderato 01:26
10 Var. 8. Fuga. Allegro moderato 02:40
11 Var. 9. Andante flebile man non tanto 03:31
12 Var. 10. Tempo di Mazurka. Con brio 01:51
13 Var. 11. Moderato – 02:13
14 Variazione finale e Coda. Allegro risoluto e con fuoco – Andante con moto – Lugubre (l’istesso tempo) 11:32

Swiss Piano Trio
Martin Lucas Staub (piano)
Angela Golubeva (violin)
Sébastien Singer (cello)