Swiss Piano Trio – Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Piano Trios (2011) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy – Piano Trios – Swiss Piano Trio (2011) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 57:07  minutes | 536 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover | © Audite Musikproduktion

This recording of the Mendelssohn Trios marks the beginning of the cooperation between audite and the Swiss Piano Trio whose recordings are issued on audite from 2011. A recording of the complete Schumann Piano Trios is planned next, with the first volume scheduled for release in June 2011.

Mendelssohn’s Piano Trios of 1839 and 1845 are, along with the piano trios of Beethoven and Schubert, pinnacles of the genre in the nineteenth century. Robert Schumann saw in them a reconciliation of contradictions which left a lasting impression on musical history at the time: the conflicts between lyrical and dramatic form, between intimacy and virtuoso performance, and finally between a universal comprehensibility and subjectivisation. In both trios Mendelssohn found solutions which captivate his listeners through the plasticity of their thematic and melodic invention, their rhythmic succinctness, their formal originality and, particularly, their uninterrupted sound-stream, anticipating Reger.

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809-1847)
Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, Op. 49
1 Molto allegro e agitato 09:31
2 Andante con moto tranquillo 06:40
3 Scherzo: Leggiero e vivace 03:34
4 Finale: Allegro assai appassionato 08:36
Piano Trio No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 66
5 Allegro energico e con fuoco 10:31
6 Andante espressivo 07:08
7 Scherzo: Molto allegro quasi presto 03:33
8 Finale: Allegro appassionato 07:31

Swiss Piano Trio
Martin Lucas Staub (piano)
Angela Golubeva (violin)
Sébastien Singer (cello)