Sublime With Rome – Sirens (2015) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Sublime With Rome – Sirens (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 33:56 minutes | 424 MB | Genre: Rock, Reggae, Ska
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Vagrant Records

Originally formed by Sublime members Eric Wilson and Bud Gaugh, along with singer/songwriter Rome Ramirez, Sublime with Rome have lost Gaugh, who has been replaced by Vandals, Devo, and even Guns N’ Roses drummer Josh Freese. So why not Sublime with Rome & Josh? Actually, reviving the Long Beach All-Stars name from Wilson’s post-Sublime career would be a better idea, as the free-flowing membership is more like a “project” than a band. All that said, there’s certainly a band “feel” on this second Sublime with Rome effort. Sirens is a step up from their debut, surprising returning fans by opening with a heavily produced, Dirty Heads feature that’s quite good before sliding into the young and organic California rock-reggae that defined their mothership act. “Wherever You Go” skillfully flirts with pop-punk, “House Party” is smooth, jam-band chillin’ with no worries, and then a ripping version of Fishbone’s classic “Skankin’” brings it all home with a song from one of the original act’s influences. Freese is an excellent edition, a musician’s musician who pushes Wilson back into deep bass grooves, while Ramirez’s voice is still big, powerful, and persuasive. Problem is, that band name is more arguable than ever, and yet Sirens proves that some kind of Wilson and Ramirez project would benefit the stoned-and-sandals set, so recommend this one to every Rebelution, Pepper, or Slightly Stoopid fan you see. ~ David Jeffries

01. Sirens (feat. Dirty Heads)
02. Wherever You Go
03. Brazilia
04. House Party
05. Been Losing Sleep
06. Promise Land Dubb
07. Best of Me
08. Put Down Your Weapon
09. Run and Hide
10. Skankin
11. Gasoline

Eric Wilson – bass
Rome – vocals, guitar
Josh Freese – drums