Sparks – A Steady Drip, Drip, Drip (2020) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Sparks – A Steady Drip, Drip, Drip (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 54:19 minutes | 1,23 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © BMG Rights Management (UK) Limited

The legendary Sparks namely the brothers Ron and Russell Mael have announced the release of their 24th studio album: a Steady Drip, Drip, Drip will be released on May 15, 2020 via BMG. In October, the Duo embarks on a small European Tour, on which the Sparks can also be seen in Germany on 15 October. Since 1974 she has been playing with her Megahit This Town Ain’t Big enough for Both of us from her 3rd album. Studio album Kimono My House having stormed the Charts, heads and radio waves for the first time, the two eternally young pop pioneers have set themselves a unique monument with their albums and their live shows. With a Steady Drip, Drip, Drip, the US Duo presents the successor of their critically acclaimed 2017 album Hippopotamus, with which the Sparks returned to the Top 10 at the time and which has been celebrated not only as one of the best albums of the year, but also as a creative highlight of the Formation so far. evor the Sparks 2021 embark on an extensive world tour together with their Band, the brothers can be experienced in October 2020 on a small European Tour.

For over fifty years, the Mael brothers Ron (the one with the moustache) and Russell (the one with the shaggy hair) have been writing sophisticated baroque-pop songs that border on kitsch. Sparks are one of those bands who were never really popular with the general public but have been greatly admired by many famous musicians. Their reputation seems to traverse all styles and genres, from Depeche Mode, Björk, New Order and Kurt Cobain through to The Smiths, Siouxsie and the Banshees and Sonic Youth, not to mention the kooky Franz Ferdinand with whom Sparks recorded an album entitled FFS (for Franz Ferdinand Sparks). This 24th album, A Steady Drip, Drip, Drip, is equally as brilliant as its predecessors. It features fourteen synthetic pop tracks and is surprisingly contemporary for a duo of brothers who are both over the age of seventy. As ever, the pair inject humour into their music with tracks like iPhone (“Put your fucking iPhone down and listen to me…”) and Lawnmower (about a “showstopping” lawnmower) but the album ends on a more touching song with choral vocal effects, entitled Please Don’t Fuck Up My World, in which the gravity of their message comes through the seemingly lighthearted music. This is the perfect album to listen whilst waiting for the release of Sparks’ musical comedy directed by Leos Carax, which is out soon. – Yan Céh


1. Sparks – All That
2. Sparks – I’m Toast
3. Sparks – Lawnmower
4. Sparks – Sainthood Is Not in Your Future
5. Sparks – Pacific Standard Time
6. Sparks – Stravinsky’s Only Hit
7. Sparks – Left Out in the Cold
8. Sparks – Self-Effacing
9. Sparks – One for the Ages
10. Sparks – Onomato Pia
11. Sparks – iPhone
12. Sparks – The Existential Threat
13. Sparks – Nothing Travels Faster Than the Speed of Light
14. Sparks – Please Don’t Fuck Up My World