Sebastiao Tapajos – Bienvenido Tapajos (1973/2016) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Sebastiao Tapajos – Bienvenido Tapajos (1973/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 36:17 minutes | 656 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source: HighResAudio |Front Cover | © MPS
Recorded: June 22 & 23, 1972 at Somil-Studios, Rio De Janeiro

Touted as a musician who combines the folk-oriented play of Brazilian guitarist Baden Powell and the classical virtuosity of Spanish guitarist Andrés Segovia, Brazilian guitarist Sebastio Tapajos’ jazz-inflected style has earned him international fame. He has played and recorded with the likes of Gerry Mulligan, Astor Piazzolla, Oscar Peterson, and Hermeto Pascoal; the Academia Brasileira de Letras designated Tapajos as the best Brazilian musician of 1992. For Bienvenido, Tapajos chose the perfect complement of Brazilian players, including two percussionists who create a living landscape of sound. Pedalando and Morneboca De Ouro are driven by the feel of samba and Carnival joyfully accentuated by the two percussionists, while Despedida/Favela finds Tapajos in duo with the bass. He takes the prayer-like ballad Feitio solo, as he does Argentine tango legend Astor Piazolla’s intriguing Adios Nonino. The Bach-inspired Criz silhouettes Tapajos’ classical side, whereas a fascinating percussive pulse propels the darker feel of Um Abaraco. Tapajos lovingly plucks and strums the melody of Baden Powell’s Choro para Metronomo, and Samba Potburri intermingles pieces by Brazilian icon Jobim and Tapajos. The waltzing lullaby Caxinha De Musica is a fitting end to this beautiful album.

1 Pedalando 2:02
2 Despedida DeMangueira/Favela 2:14
3 Feitio De Oracao 3:00
4 Morneboca De Ouro 2:47
5 Adios Nonino 4:17
6 Criz 3:37
7 Um Abraco No Sorongo 2:18
8 Choro Para Metronomo 2:34
9 Samba Potburri 8:52
10 Caxinha De Musica/Valsa De Um Sonho 3:11

Sebastião Tapajós, guitar
Juan Moreno, bass
Pedro Santos, percussion