Sarah McKenzie – We Could Be Lovers (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Sarah McKenzie – We Could Be Lovers (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 52:34 minutes | 872 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Impulse!
Recorded: Sear Sound, NY, March 2014

Sarah McKenzie, pianist-singer-composer and winner of the 2012 ARIA Award for Best Jazz Album, returns with a stunning new recording: We Could Be Lovers.

One of Australia’s most consummate performers, in 2013 Sarah moved from Melbourne to New York to study at the prestigious Berklee College of Music and to perform with the established greats of the US jazz scene. The result is We Could Be Lovers, a brilliant new album which signals a new chapter in Sarah’s rise to international fame.
Combining Sarah’s own compositions with her fresh new arrangements of favourite standards by – among others – Cole Porter, Gershwin and Henry Mancini, the album was produced by Grammy-Award-winner Brian Bacchus and recorded with an international line-up of musicians. Sarah will return to her native Australia in November 2014 to launch We Could Be Lovers, including a performance at the prestigious Wangaratta Jazz and Blues Festival.

We Could Be Lovers boasts some of the finest music to come out of the international jazz scene in recent years. That’s It, I Quit, one of Sarah’s most appealing new compositions, combines catchy rhythms and tight groove in an irresistible combination; in Moon River, recorded here with an intimate accompaniment of just guitar and piano, Sarah’s magical vocals are at their most seductive.

“Sarah McKenzie is a musical marvel. She sings with the kind of phrasing that only a true jazz player can come up with, while her groove on the piano is that stuff that makes people want to play jazz” (James Morrison)

1. I Was Doing Alright 3:20
2. That’s It, I Quit! 3:34
3. We Could Be Lovers 3:05
4. Tight 3:04
5. At Long Last Love 5:20
6. I Won’t Dance 3:34
7. Love You Madly 3:04
8. Quoi, Quoi, Quoi 3:29
9. The Music Is The Magic 4:33
10. Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?) 5:01
11. Moon River 3:58

Sarah McKenzie (piano, vocals) on track 8 (vocals), on track 11 (vocals)
Hugh Stuckey (guitar) tracks 1-11
Alex Boneham (double bass) tracks 1-10
Marco Valeri (drums, percussion) tracks 01-10
Warren Wolf (vibraphone) tracks 2, 3, 6, 7
Ingrid Jensen (trumpet) Tracks 3, 6, 8
Troy Roberts (tenor saxophone) Tracks 3, 4, 6, 10
Yosvany Terry (alto saxophone) Tracks 3, 6