Roscoe Shelton – Soul In His Music, Music In His Soul (1966/2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Roscoe Shelton – Soul In His Music, Music In His Soul (1966/2017) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 31:41 minutes | 746 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Monument/Legacy

Roscoe Shelton was a figurehead of Tennessee soul in the 1950s and 60s with his soaring, flexible, gospel-drenched R&B vocal stylings. Soul in His Music, Music in His Soul was his second record, a release that rocketed Shelton to fame with the hit single Strain on My Heart.

Soul in His Music, Music in His Soul features sublime vocalist Roscoe Shelton interpreting a dozen tracks by songwriters Huey “Piano” Smith, Allen Julian Orange, Bobby Hebb, and others. Recorded by DJ/producer John Richbourg aka “John R” of Rich Records and Cape Ann Music publishing, the material eventually emerged on the Sound Stage 7 label as this collection. A total of 11 of these 12 titles were released over seven separate 45 rpm records – that’s almost the entire album issued as singles to radio and the public years before Cyndi Lauper, Tina Turner, Heart, and Fleetwood Mac would make multiple releases from an LP the norm. When Shelton left Excello Records circa 1961, he released a song written by his guitarist from the early Excello sessions, Bobby Hebb, coincidentally on Battle Records, the same label Hebb released a 45 on. Battle #45913 had Ted Jarrett’s “Worry” on the B-side with “My Best Friend” as the featured track. Written by Bobby Hebb in 1959 or 1960, Shelton changed the lyrics slightly in the middle-eight, making this unique from the songwriter’s original version. The double-sided single “Love Comes and Goes” b/w “Mastermind” was released on John R’s Sims imprint, Sims 190 to be exact, written by Huey “Piano” Smith of “Sea Cruise” and “Rocking Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu” fame. “Strain on My Heart” was issued as Sims #217 and became an R&B hit in 1965. “Keep Your Mind on Me” came out as Sims #240, while “The Fire Still Burns” was issued on Sims 245. Amazingly, the singles kept finding release with “I Know Your Heart Has Been Broken” on Sound Plus #2122 while another R&B hit, “Easy Going Fellow, found fame in 1966 on Sound Stage #2555. “Who Walks In (When I Walk Out)” b/w “You’re Living Too Fast” got issued on Sound Plus #2114/ Sound Stage 7 #2563 – staggering when one thinks of the outreach to radio this important artist received. From the strings of “You’re Living Too Fast” to the R&B groove of “Who Walks In (When I Walk Out)” the seven compositions from the pen of Allen Orange most likely had his guiding presence to help them along in the recording studio. Though all the tracks here got scattered across the Deep in My Soul CD collection about 40 years after this initial release; the tracking on Soul in His Music, Music in His Soul works wonderfully and is worth a listen if just for the superb original context.

01 – You’re Living To Fast
02 – My Eyes (I Can Cry If I Want To)
03 – Easy Going Fellow
04 – Love Comes And Goes
05 – Keep Your Mind On Me
06 – The Fire Still Burns
07 – Strain On My Heart
08 – Mastermind
09 – I Know Your Heart Has Been Broken
10 – My Best Friend
11 – Worry
12 – Who Walks In (When I Walk Out)

This album is a high-resolution digital transfer of material originating from an analogue master source. It may contain noise, distortion or other artifacts, and may also contain audio which is limited in bandwidth or dynamic range, due to the technology used at the time of its original creation. As such, it is offered as a high-resolution documentation of a historical release.