Rolf Kuhn – Yellow + Blue (2018) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Rolf Kuhn – Yellow + Blue (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 01:01:53 minutes | 695 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © MPS

The legendary 88-year-old clarinetist Rolf Kühn presents his new single “Yellow And Blue”, the first foretaste for his upcoming eponymous album, which celebrates its release on June 1st via MPS Records. His first single “Yellow And Blue” is one of five new compositions. The single captivates with the contrast of soft, delicate, bluesy tones and stands next to the bright, the impulsive light, which turns the song into a new musical color. Blue and Yellow. Rest and awakening. Body and Soul. It all signifies intense life and love, as the kaleidoscope of colors merge to create something new.

As the album title suggests, the new album has contrasts for a theme. Besides new compositions he plays well-known ballads and legendary love songs. In doing so, he delivers new meanings and a fresh sound to the pieces. A sentimental look back is simply not his thing. Together with his new quartet of pianist Frank Chastenier, bassist Lisa Wulff, and percussionist Tupac Mantilla, Kühn contrasts his sensitive side with his unbridled desire to experiment.

01. Both Sides Now
02. Angel Eyes
03. Yellow and Blue
04. Impulse
05. The Second Time
06. Train to Norway
07. I’m Through with Love
08. Conversation III
09. Mela’s Interplay
10. Body and Soul
11. What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life?