Robin McKelle – Alterations (2020) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Robin McKelle – Alterations (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 49:01 minutes | 966 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Doxie Records

With Alterations, Robin McKelle celebrates all the women that have helped shape her into the artist she is today. “Their memory has an infallible power. I wanted to pay tribute to all these female creative singer/songwriters and make their songs my own.” The American with Irish origins has covered songs by Dolly Parton, Sade, Amy Winehouse, Adele, Janis Joplin, Carole King, Billie Holiday, Joni Mitchell and Lana Del Rey. These are all artists with strong creative personalities which McKelle manages to preserve while also adding her own personal touch. Blues, soul, rhythm’n’blues and especially jazz: she has always easily flitted between genres and this eighth album underlines her ability to concentrate on her voice and the dialogue she shares with her musicians, nevermind the stylistic differences. Alterations introduces an element of shared timelessness to all these singers from different genres and eras. – Clotilde Maréchal

01. Back to Black (5:14)
02. Rolling in the Deep (4:30)
03. Head High (3:40)
04. Don’t Explain (5:43)
05. Born to Die (5:32)
06. Jolene (4:59)
07. River (5:30)
08. No Ordinary Love (5:25)
09. Mercedes Benz (3:23)
10. You’ve Got a Friend (Bonus Track) (5:08)