RighteousGIRLS – Gathering Blue (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

RighteousGIRLS – Gathering Blue (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 00:55:30 minutes | 513 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Digital Booklet | Label: Panoramic Recordings

RighteousGIRLS (flutist Gina Izzo and pianist Erika Dohi) present their debut recording, “gathering blue” featuring works written for them that draw from the worlds of contemporary classical music, avant garde jazz, and experimental pop. Winners of a New Music USA grant to fund this recording, RighteousGIRLS highlight their innovative collaborations with diverse artists from pianist/composer Vijay Iyer to downtown luminary Randy Wolff to their co-curator and producer, Pascal Le Boeuf.

Gathering Blue is the debut album by contemporary music duo RighteousGIRLS (flutist Gina Izzo and pianist Erika Dohi). RighteousGIRLS champions work at the intersection of contemporary classical music and avant-garde jazz, as part of a growing movement to evolve beyond conventional genre boundaries. A highlight is Vijay Iyer’s Accumulated Gestures, in a trio setting with Iyer’s drummer, Justin Brown. Other guest composer/performers include rising trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire and steel pan player Andy Akiho. Award-winning producer Pascal LeBoeuf contributes the quasi-title track “GIRLS” and a series of interludes throughout. Works by Randy Woolf, Christian Carey, Dave Molk, Mike Perdue, and Jonathan Ragonese round out this provocative release of premiere recordings, all written for RighteousGIRLS.

1. GIRLS 04:18
2. Accumulated Gestures (feat. Justin Brown) 06:21
3. Anzu (feat. Ambrose Akinmusire) 04:49
4. Robe Threader (Interlude) 01:34
5. …nobody move… 06:52
6. non-poem I 07:58
7. KARakurENAI (feat. Andy Akiho) 04:59
8. gathering blue (Interlude) 01:42
9. etca’rtnE 00:17
10. Entr’acte 02:20
11. For Milton 06:12
12. Edge 06:54
13. …Out of the Blue (Postlude) 01:16

Gina Izzo, flute
Erika Dohi, piano
Andy Akiho, steel pan
Ambrose Akinmusire, trumpet
Justin Brown, drums