Ride – This Is Not A Safe Place (2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Ride – This Is Not A Safe Place (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 50:35 minutes | 596 MB | Genre: Shoegaze, Dreampop, Indie Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Wichita Recordings

‘This Is Not a Safe Place’ sees the rejuvenated Oxford four piece reunite with revered DJ, producer and remixer Erol Alkan, who was on production duties for 2017’s ‘Weather Diaries’. Rekindling that creative partnership has once again seen Ride push their sound forward, as hypnotic rhythms and washes of lush guitars come together with leftfield electronic influences. The combination creates a sound rich in their trademark shoegaze atmosphere, whilst simultaneously sounding fresh and creatively ambitious.

Following their 2017 electronic comeback, Weather Diaries, Ride have been hard at work. Barely two years after the 90s shoegaze titans reformed, Andy Bell, Mark Gardener, Loz Colbert and Steve Queralt are out with This Is Not A Safe Place. The band’s new lease on life was anything but a fluke: their 6th studio album finds a calculated balance between dream pop, krautrock and electronic samples. Risk-taking, as implied by the title, is frequent, starting with the introduction, R.I.D.E. The nightmarish welcome blends in maniacal whispers that are simultaneously an invitation (Ride!) and a statement (Ride!). Then, the mood shifts considerably: Future Love promises budding romance over bittersweet shoegaze and jangle-pop guitar leads. The contrast between heartfelt rêveries and 80s style industrial bangers carries on through the rest of the album: Repetition anchors the latter style through a Juno-6 bass line which lends it a near-Kraftwerk vibe. Andy Bell had a few words about the song himself, saying “It was one of the very first songs written for the album, and has always felt to me like one of the best songs I’ve written.”. Well Andy, you could’ve said that about most of the songs on this record, and we’d be hard pressed to disagree. – Alexis Renaudat

1. R.I.D.E. (02:59)
2. Future Love (03:38)
3. Repetition (03:17)
4. Kill Switch (02:45)
5. Clouds of Saint Marie (03:53)
6. Eternal Recurrence (05:48)
7. Fifteen Minutes (03:13)
8. Jump Jet (05:08)
9. Dial Up (03:37)
10. End Game (03:37)
11. Shadows Behind the Sun (04:00)
12. In This Room (08:40)