Richard Thompson – You? Me? Us? (1996/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Richard Thompson – You? Me? Us? (1996/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:13:58 minutes | 2,92 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Capitol Records
Recorded: February 1996 at The Sound Factory, Los Angeles

Richard Thompson earned a Grammy nomination for this ambitious 1996 release, a double album split into electric (Voltage Enhanced) and acoustic (Nude) discs, all produced by Mitchell Froom. Thompson reprises two of the electric songs on the acoustic disc, contrasting his acoustic folk roots with his electric influences.

On the surface, you? me? us? appears to be a major statement from Richard Thompson. Spread out over two discs, the budget-priced album features 19 tracks, separated into an electric (“Voltage Enhanced”) disc and an acoustic (“Nude”) disc, which each runs around 40 minutes; “Razor Dance” and “Hide It Away” appear on both discs. Despite its appearance, you? me? us? isn’t one of Thompson’s major works. What sinks the album isn’t the songs — as always, Thompson has written a handful of gems — but Mitchell Froom’s production. Froom’s gauzy, pseudo-experimental approach masks the songs in an impenetrable haze, which neither Thompson’s guitar nor his voice can cut through. There is no texture to the album’s sound — it is mushy and colorless, which cuts away at the heart of Thompson’s direct, emotional songs. If the songs on you? me? us? were given the simple, direct production they deserve, it would have been a completely different, more compelling experience. As it stands, it’s a wildly uneven and unengaging listen, like the great majority of the Froom-produced Richard Thompson records. –AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 Razor Dance 02:42
2 She Steers By Lightning 02:23
3 Dark Hand Over My Heart 03:55
4 Hide It Away 04:23
5 Put It There Pal 06:15
6 Business On You 02:50
7 No’s Not A Word 04:23
8 Am I Wasting My Love On You? 02:58
9 Bank Vault In Heaven 04:38
10 The Ghost Of You Walks 03:40
11 Baby Don’t Know What To Do With Herself 03:32
12 She Cut Off Her Long Silken Hair 05:01
13 Hide It Away 04:33
14 Burns Supper 03:50
15 Train Don’t Leave 02:20
16 Cold Kisses 04:26
17 Sam Jones 03:57
18 Razor Dance 02:29
19 Woods Of Darney 05:43

Richard Thompson – guitar, vocals, mandolin, hurdy-gurdy
Mitchell Froom – keyboards
Tchad Blake, Simon Nicol – guitar
Jerry Scheff – bass guitar
Pete Thomas, Jim Keltner – drums
Christine Collister, Teddy Thompson – backing vocals
Danny Thompson – double bass
Suzie Katayama – cello
Sid Page – violin