Rhoda Scott – We Free Queens (2017) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Rhoda Scott – We Free Queens (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 43:05 minutes | 524 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Sunset Records

With We Free Queens, the high priestess of the Hammond organ was surrounded by the rising generation of jazzwomen of the hexagon: saxophonists Sophie Alour and Lisa Cat-Berro and thresher Julie Saury. With this Lady Quartet, Rhoda Scott invited some distinguished guests: Anne Pacéo on drums, Géraldine Laurent on sax and Julien Alour on trumpet. Not the latter is not an intruder, for, to quote Rhoda Scott’s delicious expression herself, “we are not sex. Still elegant, generous, simple and enthusiastic at 78 years, Rhoda Scott signs here a superb disc with the swing tinged blues, sometimes light and sometimes percussive. The one that played with the biggest (Ray Charles, George Benson, Count Basie, Ella Fitzgerald) wraps the groove of her Hammond around everything she touches, whether it’s a song by Charles Trenet What remains of our loves?) Or a composition of Wayne Shorter (One By One).

01. We Free Queens (feat. Géraldine Laurent & Anne Paceo)
02. I Wanna Move (feat. Géraldine Laurent & Anne Paceo)
03. Que reste-t-il de nos amours ?
04. One by One (feat. Julien Alour)
05. Rhoda’s Delight (feat. Géraldine Laurent)
06. Valse à Charlotte
07. Joke (feat. Anne Paceo)
08. What I’d Say (feat. Géraldine Laurent & Julien Alour)