Ren Harvieu – Revel In The Drama (2020) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Ren Harvieu – Revel In The Drama (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 48:03 minutes | 534 MB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Bella Union

Ren Harvieu has announced news of her long-awaited new album Revel In The Drama, due for release 3rd April via Bella Union. The album is a brilliant, bolder and broader take on her timeless pop classicism, a compelling diary of a struggle with self-belief and a celebration of liberation and survival, seven years after her Top 5 debut album and having overcome a life-threatening injury. Think of Revel In The Drama as Harvieu’s second debut album; a new beginning.

Dusty Springfield, Adele, Lulu, Sandie Shaw, Duffy… The tradition of British soul pop singers has always been rich, and Ren Harvieu’s second and Qobuzissime album continues this retro movement which saw great success in the 1960s. However, it hasn’t always been easy for this Mancunian singer: in 2011, fresh from signing for the Island label for whom she was recording her first album, she broke her back in a serious accident and spent months on a hospital bed. Her album Through the Night was nevertheless released but the slim success resulted in a long and tumultuous period of self-doubt for the singer. It’s a time she has now put behind her and which she touches on with Spirit Me Away and You Don’t Know Me, two highlights of this album Revel in the Drama. This sophomore record certainly feels like the result of her meeting with Magic Numbers frontman Romeo Stodart, who helped her rediscover her passion for music and her inspiration to record again. More refined than its predecessor, Revel in the Drama broaches the influences of this enchanting torch singer; while the spirit of Dusty Springfield (or closer to today, Rumer) is never far, it’s certainly KD Lang and her vocal inflections that you think of when listening. Ren Harvieu’s writing is however unique to herself. The sombre and bleak sequences are always punctuated with her signature humour, some light sarcasm that is 100% British. The freedom she expresses in her tone and her writing is similar to that of Fiona Apple, one of her idols. Revel in the Drama is a magnificent collection of timeless and moving songs, jewels of vintage pop enrobed in superb easy listening tones and high-quality arrangements that you can hum along to long into the night. – Marc Zisman


01. Strange Thing
02. Teenage Mascara
03. This Is How You Make Me Feel
04. Curves & Swerves
05. Cruel Disguise
06. Yes Please
07. Spirit Me Away
08. This Is Our Love
09. You Don’t Know Me
10. Tomorrow’s Girl Today
11. Little Raven
12. My Body She Is Alive