Red Garland – Red Garland’s Piano (1957/2014) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Red Garland – Red Garland’s Piano (Rudy Van Gelder Remaster) (1957/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 44:38 minutes | 282 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © Prestige Records
Recorded: December 14, 1956 and March 22, 1957 at Van Gelder Studio in Hackensack, NJ
Remastered: 2005, Rudy Van Gelder at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ

From the mid-1950s to the early ’60s, Red Garland’s piano was one of jazz’s most prevalent, and recognizable, sounds. When Garland (1923-1984) recorded this, his second album for Prestige, he was riding high as a member of Miles Davis’s first “great quintet.” But Red’s own LPs also generated a strong following. Loyal and casual fans alike were attracted to his bell-like block chords, left-hand punctuations suggesting a boxer peppering a speed bag, and urbane-bluesy feeling on ballads. Garland also had a “head for tunes,” and this set, comprised entirely of standards, plus an extended reading of Percy Mayfield’s r&b classic “Please Send Me Someone to Love,” repeatedly displays just how much he loved playing them. As he often was on his Prestige sessions, Garland is accompanied by top-flight bassist (and Miles Davis bandmate) Paul Chambers and drummer Arthur Taylor, whose brushstrokes are sheer artistry.

Red Garland is a pianist who eschews the flowery and champions the direct approach in a simple, subtle manner. His basic, solid style, developed along personal lines out of Nat Cole and Bud Powell, encompasses all moods and tempos with equal ease. Never syrupy on the ballads in ballad tempo or merely fleet on the up tempos, Red is especially buoyant in a soul-lifting way on the middle ground. Here is a musician who even if he played every cocktail lounge in the country could never be considered a “cocktail lounge pianist.”

Red Garland’s third session as a leader finds the distinctive pianist investigating eight standards (including “Please Send Me Someone to Love,” “Stompin’ at the Savoy,” “If I Were a Bell,” and “Almost Like Being in Love”) with his distinctive chord voicings, melodic but creative ideas, and solid sense of swing. Joined by bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Art Taylor, Garland plays up to his usual consistent level, making this an easily recommended disc for straight-ahead fans. ~~AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

1. Please Send Me Someone To Love 09:51
2. Stompin’ At The Savoy 03:13
3. The Very Thought Of You 04:13
4. Almost Like Being in Love 04:53
5. If I Were A Bell 06:42
6. I Know Why (And so do you) 04:50
7. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love 05:05
8. But Not For Me 05:51

Red Garland, piano
Paul Chambers, bass
Art Taylor, drums