Raphael Imbert – Music Is My Hope (Bonus Track Version) (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Raphaël Imbert – Music Is My Hope (Bonus Track Version) (2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:12:47 minutes | 729 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Jazz Village

Album after album, Raphaël Imbert is writing a long and peerless musical novel. With Music Is My Hope, the saxophonist tackles jazz by different routes. Including by way of spirituality, and the spirit of the blues. With different voices hailing from far-flung places, Imbert is building bridges between the genres, the better to underline the deep cross-pollination that exists within the south of the USA. This time, Imbert invites Marion Rampal, Aurore Imbert, Manu Barthélémy and Big Ron Hunter to sing reflections and revolts, the holy and the political alike. Above all, this celebration of a history and a heritage never comes off as saccharine. Everything here is alive! Even when Raphaël Imbert and his accomplices cover Joni Mitchell’s The Circle Game or a spiritual as famous as Didn’t My Lord Deliver Daniel. A straight-shooting offering which even takes in an Occitan rendition of Vaqui lo polit mes de mai… All this lively, highly-symbolic material is magnified by the saxophonist’s grand design, which he worked up with his virtuoso musical wingmen: Pierre-François Blanchard on keyboards, Jean-Luc Di Fraya on drums, Pierre Durand and Thomas Weirich on guitars. There can be some chaotic moments here or there, like in a fight; and other moments have the solemnity of a confession. But however they play it, it is always spirited. Magnificent.

01. Peat Bog Soldiers
02. A letter to the Muse
03. Blue Prelude
04. Lady On Earth
05. Didn’t My Lord Deliver Daniel
06. Turn! Turn! Turn!
07. Vaqui Lo Polit Mes De Mai
08. Eastern Queen
09. Here’s a Song
10. The Circle Game
11. Show Boat to Delphi
12. Play Your Cards Right
13. Shenandoah
14. Christ Iag In Todesbanden (Bonus Track)