Philon Trio – Max Bruch: 8 Pieces, Op. 83 (2020) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Philon Trio – Max Bruch: 8 Pieces, Op. 83 (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 33:54 minutes | 573 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Groupe Analekta, Inc

Founded at the Musik Akademie der Stadt Basel, Switzerland, Philon Trio is a chamber ensemble consisting of David Dias da Silva on clarinet, Adam Newman on viola, and Camilla Köhnken on piano. It’s in the context of a residency at Canada’s Banff Center for Arts and Creativity that they recorded the excellent work 8 Pieces, Op. 83 by the German composer Max Bruch. Bruch was 72 in 1910 when he composed Acht Stücke Op. 83 for his son, Max Felix, already a professional clarinetist. Written in a late but conservative Romantic style, far removed from the language of Bruch’s contemporaries Stravinsky, Bartók, and Schoenberg, this work is deep, intense, passionate and intimate.

01. 8 Pieces, Op. 83: I. Andante
02. 8 Pieces, Op. 83: II. Allegro con moto
03. 8 Pieces, Op. 83: III. Andante con moto – Andante
04. 8 Pieces, Op. 83: IV. Allegro agitato
05. 8 Pieces, Op. 83: V. Rumänische Melodie (Andante)
06. 8 Pieces, Op. 83: VI. Nachtgesang (Andante con moto)
07. 8 Pieces, Op. 83: VII. Allegro vivace, ma non troppo
08. 8 Pieces, Op. 83: VIII. Moderato

Philon Trio:
David Dias da Silva, clarinet
Adam Newman, viola
Camilla Köhnken, piano