Paul Simon – The Concert In Hyde Park (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Paul Simon – The Concert In Hyde Park (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:59:00 minutes | 1,44 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Legacy Recordings

When you’re an institution like Paul Simon, and strictly speaking you don’t have anything to prove, you can do whatever you like. So surely Art Garfunkel’s former bandmate was doing exactly that when he recorded this ample (two hours!) live set in Hyde Park in London on 15 July 2012, as part of the Hard Rock Calling Festival. As so often in this kind of situation, when the artist possesses an XXL-sized body of work and discography, the recording plays the role of a kind of Best Of. And that is precisely what it is. All Paul Simon’s hits get an airing here, in pretty vigorous versions. The concert reunites Hugh Masekela and Ladysmith Black Mambazo, who were present on the album Graceland, but also features a guest appearance by the great Jimmy Cliff. Solo career (Kodachrome, Graceland, Me And Julio Down By The Schoolyard, 50 Ways To Leave Your Lover) or works from the Simon & Garfunkel period (The Boxer), nothing is missing from this first-rate performance.

01 – Kodachrome
02 – Gone at Last
03 – Dazzling Blue
04 – 50 Ways to Leave Your Lover
05 – Vietnam [with Jimmy Cliff]
06 – Mother and Child Reunion [with Jimmy Cliff]
07 – That Was Your Mother
08 – Hearts and Bones / Mystery Train / Wheels
09 – Me and Julio Down By The Schoolyard
10 – Slip Slidin’ Away
11 – The Obvious Child
12 – Introduction
13 – Homeless [with Ladysmith Black Mambazo]
14 – Paul Introduces Graceland Band
15 – Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes [with Ladysmith Black Mambazo]
16 – I Know What I Know [with Ladysmith Black Mambazo]
17 – The Boy in the Bubble
18 – Crazy Love, Vol. II
19 – Gumboots
20 – Under African Skies [with Thandiswa Mazwai]
21 – Graceland
22 – You Can Call Me Al
23 – The Sound of Silence
24 – The Boxer [with Jerry Douglas]
25 – Late in the Evening
26 – Paul Introduces Band & Thank You
27 – Still Crazy After All These Years