Paul Simon – Hearts And Bones (1985/2015) [AcousticSounds FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Paul Simon – Hearts And Bones (1985/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz | Time – 00:54:28 minutes | 977 MB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: | © Legacy Recordings

Hearts and Bones was a commercial disaster, the lowest-charting new studio album of Paul Simon’s career. It is also his most personal collection of songs, one of his most ambitious, and one of his best. It retains a personal vision, one largely devoted to the challenges of middle-aged life, among them a renewed commitment to love; the title song was a notable testament to new romance, while “Train in the Distance” reflected on romantic discord. Elsewhere, “The Late Great Johnny Ace” was his meditation on John Lennon’s murder and how it related to the mythology of pop music. Musically, Simon moved forward and backward simultaneously, taking off from the jazz fusion style of his last two albums into his old loves of doo wop and rock & roll while also incorporating current sounds with such new collaborators as dance music producer Nile Rodgers and minimalist composer Philip Glass. The result was Simon’s most impressive collection in a decade and the most underrated album in his catalog. –William Ruhlmann

1. Allergies 04:39
2. Hearts and Bones 05:39
3. When Numbers Get Serious 03:26
4. Think Too Much (b) 02:45
5. Song About the Moon 04:11
6. Think Too Much (a) 03:05
7. Train in the Distance 05:12
8. Rene and George Magritte with Their Dog After the War 03:46
9. Cars Are Cars 03:15
10. The Late Great Johnny Ace 04:53
Bonus Tracks:
11. Shelter of Your Arms (Unreleased Work-In-Progress) 03:12
12. Train in the Distance (Original Acoustic Demo) 03:14
13. Rene and George Magritte with Their Dog After the War… 03:47
14. The Late Great Johnny Ace (Original Acoustic Demo) 03:22

Paul Simon – guitar, programming, vocals
Rob Mounsey – synthesizer, vocoder
The Harptones – background vocals
Bernard Edwards – bass
Nile Rodgers – guitar, programming
Airto Moreira – percussion
Marin Alsop – violin
Michael Boddicker – synthesizer
Wells Christy – synthesizer, Synclavier
Tom Coppola – synthesizer, Synclavier
Al Di Meola – guitar
Gordon Edwards – bass
Steve Ferrone – drums
Steve Gadd – drums
Eric Gale – guitar
Anthony Jackson – contrabass guitar
Jill Jaffe – viola
Jesse Levy – cello
Michael Mainieri, Jr. – marimba, vibraphone, background vocals
George Marge – bass clarinet
Sid McGinnis – guitar
Marcus Miller – bass
David Nichtern – synclavier
Jeff Porcaro – drums
Dean Parks – guitar
Greg Phillinganes – piano, Fender Rhodes
Michael Riesman – synthesizer, conductor
Mark Rivera – alto saxophone
Robert Sabino – synthesizer, piano
Richard Tee – synthesizer, piano, Fender Rhodes, vocals
Carol Wincenc – flute
Frederick Zlotkin – cello
Peter Gordon – French horn
Dave Matthews – horn arrangements