Paul McCartney – Flowers In The Dirt {Special Edition} (1989/2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Paul McCartney – Flowers In The Dirt {Special Edition} (1989/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 1:24:32 minutes | 1,71 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © Paul McCartney Catalog

Flowers In The Dirt (Special Edition) by Paul McCartney. One of the most critically acclaimed albums of the eighties, nominated for both BRIT and Grammy Awards, Flowers In The Dirt saw Paul team up with Elvis Costello to co-write a third of the album. Remastered for all the new configurations at Abbey Road Studios.

Paul McCartney must not only have been conscious of his slipping commercial fortunes, he must have realized that his records hadn’t been treated seriously for years, so he decided to make a full-fledged comeback effort with Flowers in the Dirt. His most significant move was to write a series of songs with Elvis Costello, some of which appeared on Costello’s own Spike and many of which surfaced here. These may not be epochal songs, the way many wished them to be, but McCartney and Costello turn out to be successful collaborators, spurring each other toward interesting work. And, in McCartney’s case, that carried over to the album as a whole, as he aimed for more ambitious lyrics, themes, sounds, and productions for Flowers in the Dirt. This didn’t necessarily result in a more successful album than its predecessors, but it had more heart, ambition, and nerve, which was certainly welcome. And the moments that did work were pretty terrific. Many of these were McCartney/McManus collaborations, from the moderate hit “My Brave Face” to the duet “You Want Her Too” and “That Day Is Done,” but McCartney also demonstrates considerable muscle on his own, from the domestic journal “We Got Married” to the lovely “This One.” This increased ambition also means McCartney meanders a bit, writing songs that are more notable for what they try to achieve than what they do, and at times the production is too fussy and inextricably tied to its time, but as a self-styled comeback affair, Flowers in the Dirt works very well. ~~ AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

01 – My Brave Face
02 – Rough Ride
03 – You Want Her Too
04 – Distractions
05 – We Got Married
06 – Put It There
07 – Figure Of Eight
08 – This One
09 – Don’t Be Careless Love
10 – That Day Is Done
11 – How Many People
12 – Motor Of Love
13 – Où Est Le Soleil?
14 – The Lovers That Never Were (Original Demo)
15 – Tommy’s Coming Home (Original Demo)
16 – Twenty Fine Fingers (Original Demo)
17 – So Like Candy (Original Demo)
18 – You Want Her Too (Original Demo)
19 – That Day Is Done (Original Demo)
20 – Don’t Be Careless Love (Original Demo)
21 – My Brave Face (Original Demo)
22 – Playboy To A Man (Original Demo)

Remastered by Alex Wharton & Sam Okell at Abbey Road Studios, London.