Paul Lay – Alcazar Memories / The Party (2017) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Paul Lay – Alcazar Memories / The Party (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 01:51:59 minutes | 1,06 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Laborie Jazz

Very greedy Paul Lay who starts the year 2017 with not one but two albums that he publishes simultaneously: Alcazar Memories and The Party. The first is built around his piano, a voice (that of Isabel Sörling) and a bass (held by Simon Tailleu). “It was the sound I had in mind for this repertoire of songs and poems inspired by nature and its riches, to create many climates and music as dense as air. All these pieces celebrate this Nature, its strength, its multitude, but also describe the Man and his moods, through songs of love. “Paul Lay brings together personal compositions but also signed pieces including Gershwin or Vincent Scotto. Fascinating Swedish singer living between Gothenburg and Paris, Sörling radiates these Alcazar Memories. Paul Lay is not content to accompany him and each theme is truly designed to three. Also three for the second album, The Party. “I developed this repertoire as a sound illustration of film scenes that take place at a party. Joy, lightness, the unexpected. The excitement of meeting again. Each piece characterizes a character, a situation, or an exchange of looks, a dance, and many other movements. A party is also an opportunity to observe the game of masks: the ego of each, complex, shimmers differently depending on the situation, in order to obtain the group’s support. These moments of gathering refer us to our own identity, the multiple facets that constitute our personality, our image, our cracks, our repressions, our projections, our fantasies, confronting our reality to that of others. Following the 2014 Mikado album, Paul Lay wanted to deepen his compositional work with Clemens Van Der Feen and Dré Pallemaerts. A natural rhythm and powerful, subtle and delicate, always at the service of emotion and sensation. Hear this trio is pretty jubilant. The proposed complicity, the wealth of improvisations and the great musicality of the themes played, Lay sign here his most impressive record. On arrival, the union of these two projects is the flagrant proof of the caliber of the pianist, f = great performer and great composer of his generation.

01. Blue Roses (feat. Isabelle Sörling & Simon Tailleu)
02. Memories (Sing Song) [feat. Isabelle Sörling & Simon Tailleu]
03. Returning (feat. Isabelle Sörling & Simon Tailleu)
04. Hundred Fires (feat. Isabelle Sörling & Simon Tailleu)
05. Bereden Väg För Herran (feat. Isabelle Sörling & Simon Tailleu)
06. Adieu Venise provençale (feat. Isabelle Sörling & Simon Tailleu)
07. A Question (feat. Isabelle Sörling)
08. Amour et printemps (feat. Isabelle Sörling & Simon Tailleu)
09. Convictions (feat. Isabelle Sörling & Simon Tailleu)
10. Haze (feat. Isabelle Sörling & Simon Tailleu)
11. The Man I Love (feat. Isabelle Sörling & Simon Tailleu)

01. The Party Begins (feat. Dré Pallemaerts & Clemens Van Der Feen)
02. Valse rouge (feat. Dré Pallemaerts & Clemens Van Der Feen)
03. A Letter (feat. Dré Pallemaerts & Clemens Van Der Feen)
04. Regards croisés (feat. Dré Pallemaerts & Clemens Van Der Feen)
05. A distance du tumulte (feat. Dré Pallemaerts & Clemens Van Der Feen)
06. Langueurs (feat. Dré Pallemaerts & Clemens Van Der Feen)
07. M. Birdy (feat. Dré Pallemaerts & Clemens Van Der Feen)
08. Dance for Three (feat. Dré Pallemaerts & Clemens Van Der Feen)
09. Murmures (feat. Dré Pallemaerts & Clemens Van Der Feen)
10. Droodoo (feat. Dré Pallemaerts & Clemens Van Der Feen)
11. I Fall in Love Too Easily (feat. Dré Pallemaerts & Clemens Van Der Feen)