Paul Berner Band – This Bird Has Flown (2017) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Paul Berner Band – This Bird Has Flown (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 45:35 minutes | 1,77 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download |  Front Cover | © Sound Liaison

The great saxophonist Ben Webster wanted to know the words for every ballad he played. If he could not remember the words he would not play the song. Paul Berner Band have taken Ben’s rule to heart. These Lennon & McCartney songs are being sung without words but the outstanding musicianship of these musicians ensures that every word is heard. Paul Berner has managed the impossible. He has taken these Lennon & McCartney compositions, rearranged them for his quartet, opened them up for improvisation and personal interpretationbut managed to stay true to the essence of the songs.

“Rubber Soul was the first Beatles album I bought as soon as it was released. I was 13 and I had all kinds of questions about how the world works, all kinds of things I needed to know.The Beatles were about 10 years older than me; they were like older brothers, providing me with the answers. As I listened to Rubber Soul over and over again, I had the feeling that I was learning about girls, about love, about what adult life was, from these older brothers of mine.

What I didn’t realize then was I was also learning about songs, about rhythm, about melody, about harmony, about what makes music work; these were all messages my brothers were sending to me by writing these songs. And only now, going back to this music, do I discover that, oh! this is where I got it from! So here’s a big thank you to John, Paul, George, and Ringo.”

01. Norwegian Wood
02. Nowhere Man
03. Run for Your Life
04. It’s Only Love
05. Girl
06. Wait
07. In My Life
08. Michelle

Paul Berner – acoustic bass
Michael Moore – clarinet and alto sax
Ed Verhoeff – electric and acoustic guitar (left speaker)
Peter Tiehuis – electric and acoustic guitar (right speaker)