Patrick Watson – Wave (2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Patrick Watson – Wave (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 37:29 minutes | 388 MB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Domino Recording Co

Wave is the Canadian artist Patrick Watson’s sixth studio album, it arrives via Domino / Secret City on October 18, 2019. The songs are about how sometimes you have to sing a love song to yourself when no one else will, allowing the sound carry you and learning to trust where you will land. It is very personal and intimate, and it is the most humble of all their records.

How nice it is to find a musician who doesn’t exhaust himself by releasing loads of overly long tracks! We find ten songs here, and not one of them exceeds four and a half minutes. The result is a beautiful, compelling album that recalls the 1970s and 80s. Patrick Watson has a gift for structure and a taste for purity, which he proved in his enchanting album Adventures in Your Own Backyard in 2012. This new ten-episode fresco is drenched in melancholy, and the minimalist piano parts reflect the neoclassical influence that seems to be invading everything today, led by the likes of Jean-Michel Blais (Watson’s compatriot) and Alexis Ffrench to Dirk Maassen and, to a lesser extent, Nils Frahm. The influence is perhaps most obvious in the pulsing, repetitive track Broken, which feels like a slow tarantella with a beautiful dramatic rise. The next track Turn Out the Lights heals and soothes, releasing any previous tensions, particularly thanks to the melodic contours and more varied instrumentation. This new album Wave is largely homogeneous, enhanced by Patrick Watson’s husky, sensual voice. However, after the first nine nostalgia-tinged ethereal songs, one would never have expected such a lavish finale: Here Comes the River is like a present-day Imagine. It’s an unforgettable piece, and perhaps too short after all. – Pierre-Yves Lascar


1. Dream for Dreaming (3:40)
2. The Wave (4:17)
3. Strange Rain (2:59)
4. Melody Noir (3:14)
5. Broken (4:37)
6. Turn Out The Lights (4:14)
7. Wild Flower (3:40)
8. Look At You (3:12)
9. Drive (3:27)
10. Here Comes The River (4:14)