Olivier Chauzu – Samazeuilh: Complete Piano Works (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Gustave Samazeuilh – Complete Piano Works – Olivier Chauzu (2015) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 01:13:26 minutes | 591 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Grand Piano
Recorded: 21-23 February 2014, Recital Studio B, Tihange, Belgium

A pupil of Dukas and a lifelong friend of Ravel, the composer, pianist and critic Gustave Samazeuilh was a central figure in Parisian musical life over many decades.

His skill as a pianist can be heard in the majestic colours and intense virtuosity of Le Chant de la mer (The song of the sea). From the Classical discipline of the Suite en sol (Suite in G) to the later Nocturne (the composer’s transcription of his symphonic poem Nuit), and Quatre Esquisses (Four Sketches), Samazeuilh’s voice emerges as one of remarkable originality and superb musical realisation.

A prizewinner in Barcelona’s 1989 Maria Canals International competition, Olivier Chauzu trained at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris, where he obtained First Prize for Piano followed by First Prize in Chamber Music, studying under Gabriel Tacchino, Théodore Paraschivesko, Jean-Claude Pennetier and György Sebök. He was also a pupil of Leon Fleisher, Vitaly Margoulis and Dimitri Bashkirov before further studies at the Banff School of Fine Arts in Alberta, Canada. His recordings of Isaac Albéniz’s Iberia, Paul Dukas’ complete piano works and selected piano pieces by Schumann and Beethoven have all received critical acclaim.


Gustave Samazeuilh (1877-1967)
1. Nocturne (1938) 09:58
Piano suite in g (1902, rev. 1911)
2. I. Prelude 03:05
3. II. Francaise 02:50
4. III. Sarabande 02:56
5. IV. Divertissement 02:08
6. V. Musette 02:04
7. VI. Forlane 03:21
8. Chanson à ma Poupée (ca. 1904) 02:43
9. Naïades au soir (1910) 06:25
3 Petites Inventions (ca. 1904)
10. No. 1. Petite Invention a 2 parties 00:54
11. No. 2. Petite invention a 3 parties 01:03
12. No. 3. Petite invention a 4 parties 03:03
Esquisses (1944)
13. No. 1. Dedicace (pour un album) 02:02
14. No. 2. Luciole… 01:01
15. No. 3. Serenade (pour la main gauche seule) 03:59
16. No. 4. Souvenir (pour la main droite seule) 03:13
17. Evocation (1947) 03:04

Le chant de la Mer (1918-19)
18. No. 1. Prelude 04:16
19. No. 2. Claire de lune au large 06:56
20. No. 3. Tempete et lever du jour sur les flots 09:13

Olivier Chauzu, piano