Nosound – Allow Yourself (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Nosound – Allow Yourself (2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 38:41 minutes | 395 MB | Genre: Indie, Alternative, Electronic
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Kscope

The new album from Nosound, ‘Allow Yourself’, is a new expression from the group who have grown alongside their evolving and borderless label Kscope. The new material is a stripping back of what has come before, and its inspirations are in a different field altogether, based on founder and songwriter Giancarlo Erra’s own shifting interests. “Time has arrived for a radical change towards an alternative and electronic direction, being the music I have enjoyed the most in recent years.”

Where the previous release, ‘Scintilla’, began the experiment to develop their core sound, ‘Allow Yourself’ takes this minimalist vision to a fuller extent. It incorporates elements from bands such as The National, Notwist, Portishead, alongside a new approach to production inspired by Tony Visconti’s work on Bowie’s “Blackstar” and Nigel Godrich’s perspective on “A Moon Shaped Pool” by Radiohead.

Erra reflected on the direction of the new material, “The title ‘Allow Yourself’ reflects this need for change, freeing myself from past stories and influences. The lyrics have also gone through change, becoming more about hope, about the present and how to influence it. The writing and sounds are now more focused and minimal, guitars were left behind in favour of analogue electronics, acoustic drums work with drum machines, vocals are much more central and upfront with a different approach to singing. The whole album was recorded in analogue using vintage effects/techniques and synths, from Juno and string machines to modern classics like Electronic Engineering OP1.”

01. Ego Drip
02. Shelter
03. Don’t You Dare
04. My Drug
05. Miracle
06. This Night
07. At Peace
08. Growing in Me
09. Saviour
10. Weights
11. Defy