Nicky Holland – Sense And Sensuality (1997/2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Nicky Holland – Sense And Sensuality (1997/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 48:08 minutes | 1,4 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © Epic

The second solo album from Nicky Holland which was fated to go the same way as the first and possibly the reason why she never planned another. Nicky recorded a version of “I just don’t know what to do with myself” for the film “My Best Friend’s Wedding” while Cyndi Lauper had some success with her song “Hatful Of Stars”. In a whole it’s a collection of gorgeous orchestral pop, criminally underrated and undersold. At its best, it’s even better than its jazzy predecessor.

Although it’s slightly uneven, Sense and Sensuality is a rather enchanting collection of sweeping, orchestral pop. Strings and keyboards are inerlaced throughout the record, providing the perfect instrumental bed for Nicky Holland’s wispy voice. Considering that she has written hits for a variety of artists, including Celine Dion, Tears for Fears and Cyndi Lauper, it isn’t surprising that the songs on Sense and Sensuality are sturdy and well-constructed. What is surprising is that the songs don’t sound manufactured, but intimate and personal, and that’s what gives the album its edge.

01 – Paperchase
02 – Nobody’s Girl
03 – Dear Ingrid
04 – In a Broken Dream
05 – Nothing
06 – Falling Water
07 – New York Inside My Head
08 – Cry to Me
09 – Hat Full of Stars
10 – Lay Down
11 – John’s First Wedding