Mongo Santamaria – Hey! Let’s Party (1966/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Mongo Santamaria – Hey! Let’s Party (1966/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 31:12 minutes | 1,17 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Front Cover |  © Columbia Records

Percussionist Mongo Santamaria released this LP sometimes during the 60ies on Columbia Records, it was produced by Robert Mersey and arranged by Marty Sheller, among the players are Marty Sheller on trumpet, Hubert Laws on sax, Bobby Capers on sax & flutes, Carmello Garcia on timbales & drums, Rodger Grant on piano and Victor Venegas on bass.

Hey! Let’s Party represents one of percussionist Mongo Santamaria’s first and most engaging plunges into the world of contemporary pop, galvanizing well-known chart smashes with the energy and abandon of Latin soul. It’s a simple formula that proved remarkably successful and flexible across a series of likeminded LPs — Santamaria approaches texts like “Walk on By” and “I Got You (I Feel Good)” with deep respect and understanding, creating soulful, righteous rhythms that snake in and out of the original melodies with brilliant precision. Even battered warhorses like Glenn Miller’s “In the Mood” breathe new life, proving Santamaria’s uncanny capacity for making the familiar funky. –AllMusic Review by Jason Ankeny

1. Walk On By 02:58
2. I Got You (I Feel Good) 02:48
3. In the Mood 03:24
4. Baila Dance 03:58
5. Louie, Louie 02:16
6. (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction 03:45
7. Hey! 02:50
8. Call Me 02:45
9. El Bikini 02:27
10. Shotgun 03:27

Bobby Capers, alto, baritone saxophone, flute
Hubert Laws, saxophone
Marty Sheller, trumpet
Rodger Grant, piano
Victor Venegas, bass
Mongo Santamaria, drums, percussion
Carmello Garcia, timbales, drums