Mike Patton & Jean-Claude Vannier – Corpse Flower (2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Mike Patton & Jean-Claude Vannier – Corpse Flower (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 43:11 minutes | 487 MB | Genre: Alternative
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Ipecac Recordings

Mike Patton (Faith No More, Mondo Cane) and renowned French composer Jean-Claude Vannier, who is perhaps best known for his work with Serge Gainsbourg, release Corpse Flower, a 12-song album featuring the song “On Top Of The World” “Jean-Claude and I met while working together on a Gainsbourg retrospective at the Hollywood Bowl in 2011,” explains Patton. “We bonded immediately. I could see he had a dedication and attention to detail that was relentless so the respect I had for him in my mind was magnified in person. We spoke loosely about working together in the future… and it took some time, but after a few years I contacted him and we began to ignite some sparks.” “I would send Mike rough versions of the songs to get his thoughts, then I’d wait impatiently, staring at the clock, until I received his response,” offers Vannier about the process the duo used to create Corpse Flower. “He made my music awaken with his unique perspective and interpretations of my songs. A formidable vocalist, with a sense of humor, Mike and I created a strong, beautiful and sincere collection of music, as well as a friendship.”

When it comes to Mike Patton, expect the unexpected. It should come as no surprise that the man behind Faith No More, Fantômas, Tomahawk and Mr. Bungle has now teamed up with a the most unlikely of matches – Jean-Claude Vannier. Vannier is a musician, composer and arranger who is well known on the French music scene for having worked alongside the likes of Barbara, Claude-François, Jacques Higelin, Alain Bashung, Michel Polnareff, Claude Nougaro, Juliette Gréco and most notably Serge Gainsbourg, with whom he composed the legendary album Histoire de Melody Nelson. Between 1975-1990, he released half a dozen albums full of wistful songs that unfortunately never really took off but did land him a delightful fan-base.
In fact, the first time that the Californian and the Frenchman met was for a Gainsbourg tribute in 2011. Eight years later, this superb baroque duo have now taken their friendship to the next level and collaborated for this album. The pair manage to combine abstract, pop and classical music in a way that isn’t overly pretentious. Vannier’s orchestration is as quirky yet sophisticated with a touch of romantic drama that is a pleasure to listen to, especially combined with Patton’s deep and sultry voice. The result is a symphony of a thousand sounds that makes Corpse Flower a work of art unlike any other. Amazing. – Marc Zisman


1. Ballade C.3.3 (03:21)
2. Camion (03:23)
3. Chansons d’amour (04:22)
4. Cold Sun, Warm Beer (03:40)
5. Browning (03:14)
6. Hungry Ghost (03:48)
7. Corpse Flower (02:53)
8. Insolubles (04:08)
9. On Top of the World (03:20)
10. Yard Bull (04:21)
11. A Schoolgirl’s Day (03:27)
12. Pink and Bleue (03:14)