Midnight North – End Of The Night (2013) [Bandcamp FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Midnight North – End Of The Night (2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 41:40 minutes | 504 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Bandcamp | Front Cover | © Trazmick Recordings

Midnight North is the creation of Grahame Lesh, son of Grateful Dead bassist Phil Lesh that updates and continues the Grateful Dead sound for a new generation. With the addition of Elliot Peck as songwriter/singer, Midnight North moves beyond the Grateful Dead sound with a female vocalist additing a new color and vibrancy to the sound while keeping the acid country rock rhythms of of the Dead alive and grooving. Based at Phil Lesh’s venue , Terrapin Crossroads in the northern California country seat of San Rafael California, Midnight North is ready to go national.

Midnight North’s debut album, End of the Night, sonically picks up where Ryan Adams & the Cardinals and others left off, heartfelt rock & folk songs decked out in country rock, with tight vocal harmonies and a steady beat. Produced by Connor and Grahame and recorded amidst the redwood groves at In The Pocket Studios in Forestville, CA, End of the Night peaks with a soaring slow burner that no great rock album would be complete without – Peck’s “All Remains the Same.” Worth a listen: the crisp guitars and memorable melody of opener “Falling,” and stay for the band strutting through “Miss M”, the gorgeous playing and singing on “Hold Me Down” and of course, the closing title track. Grahame put it best when he said, “We’ve got a little bit of country in us, but it’s just rock n’ roll”.

01 – Falling
02 – Miss M
03 – Long Road
04 – Last Train
05 – All Remains the Same
06 – Who I Was
07 – Hold Me Down
08 – Blew Me Away
09 – San Francisco Rain
10 – End of the Night

Produced by Connor Jon O’Sullivan & Grahame Lesh.
Engineered by Mike Scully & Connor Jon O’Sullivan.
Recorded at In The Pocket Studios in Forestville, CA.
And in the Outer Richmond District of San Francisco.
Mixed by Connor Jon O’Sullivan. Mastered by Michael Romanowski.

Grahame Lesh – Electric & acoustic guitars, banjo & vocals
Elliott Peck – Acoustic guitar, piano, organ, Rhodes, Wurlitzer & vocals
Connor Jon O’Sullivan – Electric & upright bass, mandolin, baritone, piano & Minimoog
Eric Saar – Drums, percussion & piano
Special guest: Dave Muhlethaler – fiddle