Michelle Willis – See Us Through (2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Michelle Willis – See Us Through (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 37:22  minutes | 421 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © GroundUP Music

Toronto-based singer-songwriter and keyboard player Michelle Willis has worked with everyone from Iggy Pop to Snarky Puppy and now embarks on her own with this debut solo album, funded by her fans via crowdsourcing. The culmination of six years of writing, Willis says each song deals with attempting to get to the other side of whatever she was in. Often that meant making a decision or speaking up, or just holding tight and not being afraid to stay the course.

“Each of these things required an action I was often afraid to make. These songs were my encouragement to myself, an extra tug to keep trying, to aim for it. The music was never written with an album in mind, but when it all came together as one project the pieces all seemed to fit. Sonically, it features warm, dark and rich tones from the band … it’s almost a jazz, soul and hymn-like approach to the songwriting structure, with a heavy dose of lead and background vocals intertwined throughout, because … why not more vocals?” –Michelle Willis

1. Home 05:45
2. It’ll Rain Today 04:31
3. Battlefield (A Letter To You) 04:11
4. See Us Through 04:58
5. Persimmon 04:39
6. Trust Me 04:32
7. Waking Morning 03:16
8. Solitude 05:30

Michelle Willis – Arranger, Composer, Piano, Pump Organ, Voices, Wurlitzer
Anna Atkinson, Heather Crawford, Lori Cullen, Robin Dann, Valerie Burke Dunne, Olivia Cox, Laura Matthews, Joanna Mohammed, The O’Pears, Lydia Persaud, Shawn Rompre, Alex Samaras, Marla Walters – Choir/Chorus
Bill Bell – Guitar
Gary Craig – Drums, Percussion
Thom Gill – Guitar (Electric)
Jonathan Goldsmith – String Arrangements, Strings
Charles James – Bass (Acoustic), Bass (Electric)
Tom Juhas – Guitar, Guitar (Acoustic)
Hugh Marsh – Violin (Electric)
Philippe Melanson – Drums
Rob Piltch, Darryl Poulsen – Guitar (Acoustic)
Don Rooke – Slide Guitar