Michael Wollny feat. Eric Schaefer & Christian Weber – Oslo (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Michael Wollny feat. Eric Schaefer & Christian Weber – Oslo (2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 57:05 minutes | 1,14 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © ACT Music

With Oslo, Michael Wollny and his trusty rhythm section (bassist Christian Weber and drummer Eric Schaefer) confirm that their project is as solid as ever. Recorded at Rainbow Studio in the Norwegian capital in September 2017, the album confirms that Wollny is one of the most skilful German jazz pianists of his generation. An improviser, here he deploys his staple piano style, with plenty of spaces and silences. His playing carries a sincere romanticism which never feels overdone, and a muted tonality. And whether he is tackling Fauré, Debussy or Rautavaara, or playing themes of his own devising, this fan of Keith Jarrett, Brad Mehldau, Esbjörn Svensson and Paul Bley imposes a signature piano style all his own. Note that on three tracks the trio are joined by the Norwegian Wind Ensemble.  – Max Dembo

1. make a wish (Michael Wollny) 02:37
2. hello dave (Michael Wollny) 04:04
3. farbenlehre (Michael Wollny) 03:19
4. piano trio op.120, andantino (Gabriel Fauré, arr. by Eric Schaefer) 05:07
5. zweidrei (Eric Schaefer) 02:15
6. interludium (Paul Hindemith, arr. Wollny, Weber, Schaefer) 03:53
7. roses are black (Heinz Sauer) 04:19
8. longnote (Geir Lysne) 03:17
9. nuits blanches (Claude Debussy, arr. by Eric Schaefer) 05:04
10. perpetuum mobile (Eric Schaefer) 03:05
11. cantus articus (Einojuhani Rautavaara, arr. by Wollny, Weber, Schaefer) 04:01
12. there again (Michael Wollny) 03:44
13. the whiteness of the whale (Michael Wollny) 11:52

Michael Wollny, piano
Christian Weber, double bass
Eric Schaefer, drums, Live Electronics (on track 13)
Norwegian Wind Ensemble (on tracks 01, 08 & 13)
Geir Lysne, curator (real time music)