Michael Sanderling – Beethoven Symphony No. 3 & Shostakovich Symphony No. 10 (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Michael Sanderling – Beethoven Symphony No. 3 & Shostakovich Symphony No. 10 (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:44:49 minutes | 1,64 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Sony Classical

The Dresdner Philharmonie is one of Germany’s major orchestras and has laid, together with his Principal Conductor Michael Sanderling, its focus on recording the complete cycle of symphonies by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) and Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975). After having released Beethoven’s and Shostakovich’s symphonies nos. 6 in 2015, for which the orchestra has received positive reviews, this recording is the second album from the cycle. Michael Sanderling decided to pair Beethoven’s symphony no. 3 and Shostakovich’s symphony no. 10 because of the similar motivation of both composers: to display the current political situation, i.e. Napoleon’s reign and Stalin’s dictatorial regime.

“Michael Sanderling offers warm, structurally sound, well-balanced performances, always musically phrased with well-judged climaxes (especially in the Beethoven).” Gramophone Magazine


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Symphony No. 3 in E-Flat Major, Op. 55, “Eroica”
01. I. Allegro con brio
02. II. Marcia funebre. Adagio assai
03. III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace
04. IV. Finale. Allegro molto

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-75)
Symphony No. 10 in E Minor, Op. 93
05. I. Moderato
06. II. Allegro
07. III. Allegretto
08. IV. Andante-Allegro

Dresdner Philharmonie
Michael Sanderling (conductor)