Metronomy – Metronomy Forever (2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Metronomy – Metronomy Forever (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 54:40 minutes | 625 MB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Because Music

The follow-up to 2016’s ‘Summer 08’, ‘Metronomy Forever’ features 17 tracks. Its length is born from a desire for breathing room, from not wanting to stuff the hits together like a bouquet of petrol station roses – a modern way of listening to music. Metronomy’s innate skill for blending off-kilter funk, energising club vibes and esoteric pop is interspersed with some mood-setting, glistening and melodic electronic tracks. The band’s leader Joseph Mount called upon a variety of inspirations for this album. Most notably, he wanted to replicate the feeling of listening to the radio, with an infinite quality, sumptuous songs of different styles, ever rolling, helping to lighten your mood. Moving away from the bustle of his former Parisian home to take up residence atop a hill in the garden of England had an impact, infusing the album with a sense of tranquillity and a calm joy that reflects the relative happiness of his existence. Also influential was time spent working on Robyn’s critically adored ‘Honey’ album, with a similar feeling of emotional, intense, carnal mania informing songs such as ‘Sex Emoji’ and ‘Salted Caramel Ice Cream’.

Joseph Mount, aka the brains behind Metronomy, wrote their new 2019 album all by himself in the English countryside. It comes three years after Summer 08 and ten years after Nights Out, the album that first unveiled the band to Europe and which was re-issued in February 2019 with an assortment of unreleased demos and B-sides. Although nights out are a thing of the past for Joseph Mount since he left Paris to settle down with his children in the countryside, he still manages to conjure up that same feeling of drinking and dancing on a warm summers evening in this new album. The sneak previews that he had been dropping since springtime in anticipation of the album also seemed to follow the same timeless style, notably on Salted Caramel Ice Cream with its retro synth, as well as Lately and Wedding Bells.
The rest of this jam-packed album (with a whopping 17 tracks) has a mix of electro, rock, pop, funk and even deep house (like in Miracle Rooftop), with plenty of hits that will get you up on your feet. But is it enough to get Metronomy into the realm of Blur, Oasis and Elastica? Joseph Mount certainly hopes so as he revealed in an interview with the English press that he is saddened about how the band is not as well-known in his own country, “At what point do you become embraced by the country? You’re stood behind a window, waving frantically. ‘We’re here! We’ve been here for ages! Let us in’. And all the time, you see people coming and going and people held up, and you’re… still there. [..] Its only at the very end of your career that they’re like ‘Oh yes, great band. I’ve always liked them’, which is a shame”. – Smaël Bouaici


01. Wedding
02. Whitsand Bay
03. Insecurity
04. Salted Caramel Ice Cream
05. Driving
06. Lately
07. Lying Now
08. Forever Is A Long Time
09. The Light
10. Sex Emoji
11. Walking In The Dark
12. Insecure
13. Miracle Rooftop
14. Upset My Girlfriend
15. Wedding Bells
16. Lately Going Spare
17. Ur Minxtape