Maurizio Pollini – Beethoven: The Late Piano Sonatas Nos. 28-32 (2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Ludwig van Beethoven – The Late Piano Sonatas Nos. 28-32 – Maurizio Pollini (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:05:34 minutes | 2,08 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © Deutsche Grammophon
Recording: January, June 1977, Grosser Saal, Musikverein, Wien, Austria; #9-14 – June 1975, Residenz, Herkulessaal, Munich, Germany

Maurizio Pollini recorded Beethoven late sonatas in the mid-1970s and received lavish critical praise for his faithful and highly skilled interpretations. The pianist and his performance have since acquired legendary status, particularly for the Hammerklavier, deemed “perfect” by Gramophone.

“… this is playing of the highest order of mastery … Pollini’s account (of the Hammerklavier) is simply staggering, for if there are incidental details which are more tellingly illuminated by other masters, no performance is more perfect than this … superb rhythmic grip, sensitivity to line and gradation of tone, a masterly control of the long paragraph; all these are features of this remarkable reading … what continues to stun me about this reading (and stun is an apt description) is Pollini’s clarity of vision, the way that he observes Beethoven’s little ritenutos and dynamic shifts religiously but forms them into such a coherent whole.” –Gramophone

Because Beethoven’s late piano sonatas are universally revered, performances of these works often invite passionate disagreements about the proper way to interpret them. Such was the case with Maurizio Pollini’s recordings (1975-1977), and the controversy surrounding them has never fully abated. While these performances are polished to an extent seldom realized on other recordings, it was this pristine quality itself that invited criticism. Pollini was alleged to have objectified the music and detached himself emotionally from his performances, leaving only cold, analytical readings without a trace of feeling. In defense, it should be pointed out that many previous performances were overly burdened with Romantic interpretations and pretensions, and that Pollini performed a great service by presenting the sonatas in as accurate and clean a manner as possible, without grandiose effects. His performances are astonishingly lucid and flowing, especially in the many contrapuntal passages that regularly appear as features of these works. The last five sonatas are admirably served by Pollini’s control and precision, and whatever doubts are held about his emotional involvement may be dismissed when the slow movements of Opp. 109 and 111 are heard. These are sublime performances with a high level of immediacy and skill and are strongly recommended. –AllMusic Review by Blair Sanderson


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Piano Sonata No.28 In A, Op.101
1. 1. Etwas lebhaft und mit der innigsten Empfindung (Allegretto ma non troppo) 03:47
2. 2. Lebhaft, marschmäßig (Vivace alla marcia) 06:14
3. 3. Langsam und sehnsuchtsvoll (Adagio ma non troppo, con affetto) 02:45
4. 4. Geschwind, doch nicht zu sehr und mit Entschlossenheit (Allegro) 07:33

Piano Sonata No.29 In B-Flat, Op.106 “Hammerklavier”
5. 1. Allegro 10:46
6. 2. Scherzo (Assai vivace – Presto – Prestissimo – Tempo I) 02:43
7. 3. Adagio sostenuto 17:11
8. 4. Largo – Allegro risoluto 12:24

Piano Sonata No.30 In E Major, Op.109
9. 1. Vivace, ma non troppo – Adagio espressivo – Tempo I 03:15
10. 2. Prestissimo 02:16
11. 3. Gesangvoll, mit innigster Empfindung (Andante molto cantabile ed espressivo) 12:41

Piano Sonata No.31 In A-Flat Major, Op.110
12. 1. Moderato cantabile molto espressivo 06:04
13. 2. Allegro molto 01:57
14. 3. Adagio ma non troppo – Fuga (Allegro ma non troppo) 09:45
Piano Sonata No.32 In C Minor, Op.111
15. 1. Maestoso – Allegro con brio ed appassionato 08:46
16. 2. Arietta (Adagio molto semplice e cantabile) 17:27

Maurizio Pollini, piano