Matisyahu – Undercurrent (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Matisyahu – Undercurrent (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:08:43 minutes | 1,39 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Fallen Sparks – Thirty Tigers

Singer-songwriter Matisyahu has been on a journey inward for more than a decade. The journey has been private and public. Now, nearly thirteen years after the release of his first studio record, Matisyahu and his band have done something unmatched in his past repertoire; they have crafted that journey into a musically thematic eight-song-movement. The band features longtime guitarist Aaron Dugan, Dub Trio’s bassist and drummer Stu Brooks and Joe Tomino, and keyboard virtuoso BigYuki – and the journey starts with them. The band improvised for hours in the studio with Matisyahu watching on as an admirer without singing a single lyric. Out of the improvisations grew melodic themes, rhythmic peaks and valleys, blissful and proto-song guitar passages, deep dub meditations and ultimately an inspired instrumental record unto itself. Only once the band had crafted this musical narrative, did Matisyahu begin to work on a lyrical narrative of his own – a lyrical narrative that is simultaneously informed and integrated with the music yet driven by Matisyahu’s own personal journey. The result is Undercurrent, Matisyahu’s sixth studio album. There are no post-production bells and whistles, excessive overdub distractions, or litany of special guests on Undercurrent.

01. Step out into the Light
02. Back to the Old
03. Coming up Empty
04. BSP: Blue Sky Playground
05. Tell Me
06. Forest of Faith
07. Head Right
08. Driftin’