Mario Pavone – Vertical (2017) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Mario Pavone – Vertical (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 51:52 minutes | 1,03 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Clean Feed

A reunion record of sorts, with bass legend Mario Pavone getting together with some long-time colleagues of old in a sextet format. And the results are predictably excellent: multiple horn parts giving life to Pavone’s thorny compositions, a strong yet occasionally unpredictable rhythmic current, and superb musicianship throughout.

By now, Mario Pavone doesn’t need more presentations: he’s on the top of the jazz nobility of today, after a life of partnerships with the greatest, namely Paul Bley, Bill Dixon, Thomas Chapin, Anthony Braxton, Wadada Leo Smith, Marty Ehrlich and others of similar status. In his own bands, Pavone chooses the best in activity: his new opus, “Vertical”, include the contributions of Tony Malaby, Oscar Noriega, Dave Ballou, Peter McEachern and Mike Sarin. With such luminaries, the music could only have a solar quality: it’s colorful, bright, warm and intense. The compositions extend the percussive approach to the double bass which imediatly identifies this extraordinary musician: Pavone’s integrated work with drummer Sarin is propulsive, nervous and energetic, cutting through the clouds of sound formed by the reeds and the brass instruments. The horn frontline can be formed by only four contributors, but sometimes it seems we’re in front of an entire orchestra. This is dense and intense music, full of grain and humanity, powerful and fragile at the same time, meticulously structured and spontaneous in the same measure, with motivating theme lines and loose improvisations. It has everything you can ask for in just a jazz album.


01 – Ellipse
02 – Vertical
03 – Suitcase in Savannah
04 – Broken
05 – Cube Code
06 – Blue Drum
07 – Start Oval
08 – Horizontal
09 – Two Thirds Radial
10 – Axis Legacy
11 – Voice Oval

Mario Pavone – double bass
Dave Ballou – trumpet
Tony Malaby – tenor and soprano saxophone
Oscar Noriega – clarinet and bass clarinet
Peter McEachern – trombone
Mike Sarin – drums