Marie-Claude Chappuis – Sous l’Empire d’Amour – French Songs for Mezzo-Soprano & Lute (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Marie-Claude Chappuis – Sous l’Empire d’Amour – French Songs for Mezzo-Soprano & Lute (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:03:39 minutes | 1,14 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Source: Qobuz | Booklet,  Front cover | © deutsche harmonia mundi

The first half of the seventeenth century marked the heyday of the air de cour at the French court. This was a monophonic lute-accompanied song that was generally on the subject of love. Sentimental songs of this kind soon found their way to other parts of Europe, including England, Germany and the Netherlands. With their exceptional programme, mezzo-soprano Marie-Claude Chappuis and lutenist Luca Pianca breathe new life into this courtly musical culture in all of its elegance and beauty, performing works by Jean-Baptiste Lully, Étienne Moulinié, Michel Lambert, Gabriel Bataille and others.


Michel Lambert (1610-1696)
1 Goûtons un doux repos 02:08

Gabriel Bataille (1575-1630)
2 Ma bergère non légère 02:21

Jean-Baptiste Lully (1632-1687)
3 Monsieur de Pourceaugnac, LWV 41: Répands charmante nuit 05:18

Michel Lambert / Jean-Baptiste Lully
4 Le mariage forcé, LWV 20: Récit de la beauté 04:18

Robert Ballard (ca. 1575-1650)
5 Diverses Pièces mises sur le luth: Entrée 01:48
6 Diverses Pièces mises sur le luth: Ballet 01:56
7D iverses Pièces mises sur le luth: Courante 01:15

Michel Lambert
8 Rochers, vous êtes sourds 04:44

Gabriel Bataille
9 Un satyre cornu 02:35

Michel Lambert
10 Ma bergère est tendre et fidèle 01:55
11 Charmante nuit 04:02

Jacques Bittner (fl. 1680)
12 Pièces de luth: Prelude 00:54
13 Pièces de luth: Courante 01:16
14 Pièces de luth: Gavotte 01:16
15 Pièces de luth: Chaconne 04:19

Jean-Baptiste Lully
16 Psyché, LWV 56: Plainte Italienne 05:31

Etienne Moulinié (1599-1676)
17 Amis, enhivrons-nous 01:18

Michel Lambert
18 Ombre de mon amant 05:32

Gabriel Bataille
19 Qui veut chasser une migraine 01:49

Francois Richard (1580-1650)
20 Ruisseau qui cours après toi-même 05:43

Antoine Boesset ca. 1585-1643)
21 Ils s’en vont ces roys de ma vie 03:24

Marie-Claude Chappuis, mezzosoprano
Luca Pianca, lute
Recorded by famous Swiss/French sound engineer Jean-Daniel Noir.