Lynn Anderson – Cry (1972/2020) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]


Lynn Anderson – Cry (1972/2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 30:33 minutes | 671 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Columbia Nashville Legacy

Cry continues Lynn Anderson’s trend toward pop music and away from songs written by her gifted mother, Liz Anderson. In their place are songs written by producers Glenn Sutton and Billy Sherrill, including songs they originally wrote for other artists in some cases. The title track, a 1951 hit for Johnny Ray, became a Top Three country hit for Anderson and is emblematic of the direction her career took in the wake of her crossover hit “Rose Garden.” Other pop covers include very recent hits by the Addrisi Brothers (“We’ve Got to Get It On Again”) and Sonny & Cher (“When You Say Love”). Anderson turns in an ace version of Sherrill and Sutton’s “Tonight My Baby’s Coming Home,” another recent hit this time a country one for Barbara Mandrell. Anderson was a hot commercial property at this stage and was putting out albums at a rate of three or four a year; she was such an exceptional vocalist she always did well by the material, but the preponderance of pop covers and her drift toward easy listening vocal music (she turns Ray Price’s “I Won’t Mention It Again” into a potential adult contemporary hit) is an ambiguous development.


01. Cry
02. Never Ending Song of Love
03. Ask Any Woman
04. Bedtime Story
05. I Won’t Mention It Again
06. Tonight My Baby’s Coming Home
07. Cotton Jenny
08. Kiss Away
09. When You Say Love
10. We Can Make It
11. We’ve Got to Get It On Again