London Philharmonic Orchestra, Klaus Tennstedt – Mahler: Symphony No. 5 (1979/2012) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Gustav Mahler – Symphony No. 5 – London Philharmonic Orchestra, Klaus Tennstedt (1979/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:44:04 minutes | 1,8 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © EMI Classics

World renowned conductor Klaus Tennstedt leads the London Philharmonic Orchestra through Mahler’s Symphony No. 5 and his Symphony No. 10. This incredible performance is thoughtful and expressive, capturing the true emotional essence of the works.

About the Mastering :: Four engineers at Abbey Road Studios in London have remastered these historic EMI recordings from their original analogue sources for release in pristine hi-def. Between them, Simon Gibson, Ian Jones, Andy Walter and Allan Ramsay have many years of experience remastering archive recordings for EMI and other record labels. The process always starts with finding all of the records and tapes in EMI’s archive in London and comparing different sources and any previous CD reissues. We consult each recording’s job file, which contains notes about the recording made by the engineer and producer. For example, this sometimes explain why there is more than one set of tapes to choose from. All of the tapes are generally in good condition and we play them on our Studer A80 π inch tape machine, after careful calibration of its replay characteristics.
In order to have the best digital remastering tools at our disposal for the remastering, we transfer from analogue to the digital domain at 96 KHz and 24-bit resolution using a Prism ADA-8 converter and capture the audio to our SADiE Digital Audio Workstation.


Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)

Symphony No. 5 in C Sharp Minor
1 I. Trauermarsch. In gemessenem Schritt. Streng. Wie ein Kondukt 13:54
2 II. Stürmisch bewegt. Mit größter Vehemenz 15:15
3 III. Scherzo. Kraftig, nicht zu schnell 18:16
4 IV. Adagietto. Sehr langsam 11:55
5 V. Rondo-Finale. Allegro 16:31
Symphony No. 10 (unfinished)
6 I. Adagio 28:13

London Philharmonic Orchestra
Klaus Tennstedt, conductor