Little Steven – Soulfire (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Little Steven – Soulfire (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 57:16 minutes | 1,26 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Universal Music

If Steven Van Zandt hadn’t added anything to his discography since 1997’s Born Again Savage, he surely had good reason. The first was made clear by his role as Silvio Dante in the series The Sopranos (1999 – 2007) followed by his stint as Frank Tagliano / Giovanni “Johnny” Henriksen in Lilyhammer (2012 – 2014). The second reason was his numerous tours as part of Bruce Springsteen’s E Street Band, for whose leader he remains a right-hand man as well as the go-to guitarist. This Soulfire, released in Spring 2017, is in fact an official album, but slightly different. The man in the head-wrap is having fun covering his own songs, some from his back catalogue, others having been recorded by various musicians. So we can find, nestling away in this cornucopia, a new version of Love On The Wrong Side Of Town that Little Steven co-wrote with the Boss for Southside Johnny & The Asbury Jukes. Soulfire takes in other songs written by the Southside Johnny guitarist, alongside covers of Etta James (The Blues Is My Business) and James Brown (Down And Out In New York City). At the outset, Little Steven offers a grand fiesta of classic rock mixed with a muscular rhythm ‘n’ blues and a resonant soul: a cocktail that would not disgrace a certain Bruce S. of New Jersey…

01 – Soulfire
02 – I’m Coming Back
03 – Blues Is My Business
04 – I Saw the Light
05 – Some Things Just Don’t Change
06 – Love On the Wrong Side of Town
07 – The City Weeps Tonight
08 – Down and Out In New York City
09 – Standing In the Line of Fire
10 – Saint Valentine’s Day
11 – I Don’t Want To Go Home
12 – Ride the Night Away