Lionel Loueke – GAIA (2015) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Lionel Loueke – GAIA (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 55:36 minutes | 1,2 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source:| © Blue Note Records
Recorded: June 2015, Siemensvilla, Berlin, Germany

On GAÏA, Loueke reunited with his longtime trio featuring bassist Massimo Biolcati and drummer Ferenc Nemeth for a session produced by GRAMMY-winning producer and Blue Note president Don Was that was recorded live in the studio with an intimate audience in attendance.
“I always wanted to record this trio live” says Loueke of the sessions, which were captured at Sear Sound in New York City. “We were all in the same room with a small audience, no headphones, no isolation and no overdubs of course. It has a real live feel. It was a very special event.”
Loueke’s compositional mastery is evident in the construction of the 11 original songs presented here and the trio’s performances are extraordinary, a testament to the intuitive dialogue these three musicians have developed since they first met while attending the Berklee College of Music in the late 1990s. “I don’t think we sound like any other trio on the scene today’ says an understated Loueke. “I have been writing for this trio for a long time. They can handle every metrical challenge in my songs. There is an inside communication between the three of us.”

The musical dialogue on GAÏA pertains to the nature of the Earth and man’s effect on it, an urgent message at a time when the warning signs of global warming have become undeniable. In Greek mythology, Gaïa is the personification of the Earth, the mother goddess who birthed the planet and the entire universe. ‘She would be angry,” Loueke states bluntly. “We have not taken good care of her child.”
GAÏA is punctuated by several powerful tracks with a decided rock edge, including “Wacko Loco” and “Procession” which present a different side of an artist that The New York Times once hailed as a “gentle virtuoso.” “B.B. King and Jimi Hendrix were my heroes,” says Loueke.
The album ends surprisingly with a spry version of the Bee Gees hit “How Deep Is Your Love” which leaves us pondering how we might change this destructive course. “I didn’t understand the words when I was young,” says Loueke. “I just loved the beautiful melody and voices.” Even presented wordless, the lyrics take on new meaning here: “And you may not think I care for you / When you know down inside that I really do.”

1. Broken 02:44
2. Sleepless Night 05:51
3. Sources Of Love 04:31
4. Wacko Loco 03:42
5. Aziza Dance 05:16
6. Rain Wash 04:29
7. Forgiveness 07:06
8. Even Teens 04:01
9. Gaïa 03:46
10. Veuve Malienee 06:30
11. Procession 03:19
12. How Deep Is Your Love? 04:21

Lionel Loueke, guitar
Massimo Biolcati, bass
Ferenc Nemeth, drums