Liars – TFCF (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Liars – TFCF (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 37:50 minutes | 414 MB | Genre: Alternative
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Mute

The case of Liars is in line with the cover of this TFCF: most improbable! What’s more, each album released by the experimental band has strictly nothing to do with the previous one. In a time when blending and fusion of genres are one of the strongest trends, the Liars always seem to beat their colleagues to the punch! And the 2017 vintage pushes this even further with, for instance, an acoustic guitar appearing out of nowhere during a usual noisy bazaar. Yes, you read that right, a simple six-string folk guitar! This doesn’t prevent TFCF keeping one foot in a more or less punk electro style… But, more than anything, this eighth studio album is marked by the absence of Aaron Hemphill and Julian Gross who jumped ship, leaving Angus Andrew alone on board. What  was once a quartet from Brooklyn has now become the solo project of an Australian who moved back down under… But he does really well for himself! The usual 100% Liars collective craziness is still there. The only difference is that Andrew seems to rely on slightly more classical song architectures. But only by a smidgen… We come out of TFCF (standing for Theme From Crying Fountain) with the impression of having crossed a country in which the laws of gravity don’t exist anymore. A mad no man’s land, anything but formatted…

01. The Grand Delusional
02. Cliché Suite
03. Staring At Zero
04. No Help Pamphlet
05. Face To Face With My Face
06. Emblems of Another Story
07. No Tree No Branch
08. Cred Woes
09. Coins In My Caged Fist
10. Ripe Ripe Rot
11. Crying Fountain