Liane Carroll – The Right To Love (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Liane Carroll – The Right To Love (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 46:36 minutes | 879 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Quiet Money Recordings

Liane Carroll’s talents, as singer, pianist and all-round musical force of nature, seemed to defy all efforts to capture them successfully on record. Until, that is, she began working with producer James McMillan. This, their fourth album together, displays a characteristic mixture of deceptive simplicity and emotional depth. Following the loose theme of attitudes to love, Carroll calls on songs by, among others, Stevie Wonder, Tom Waits, Jacques Brel and Hoagy Carmichael, whose I Get Along Without You Very Well provides the most touching moment.

Singer-pianist Liane Carroll is one of the UK’s greatest musical treasures. A deeply soulful, highly emotive singer and a superb pianist (classically trained from the age of three) her unique ability to inhabit a lyric is underpinned by a true musicality that lifts her interpretations into the realms of art in their own right leading The Observer newspaper to declare that ‘She seems in some magical way to be made out of music’ and Jazzwise hailed her “rare ability to meld effortless, often transcendent vocal and piano technique with heart stopping emotion and soul bearing power’. And it’s her soulful artistry that underpins “The Right To Love”, Carroll’s tenth album and fourth to be produced by Multi-Grammy nominated producer and trumpeter, and fellow Hastings resident, James McMillan. It follows on from the acclaimed Up and Down (2011) and superlative Ballads (2013) and the critically acclaimed Seaside (2015). Each beautifully crafted album has explored a theme or facet of Carroll’s artistry and The Right To Love is no different.

01 – Skylark
02 – The Right To Love
03 – It’s A Fine Line
04 – If You Go Away
05 – You Don’t Know What Love Is
06 – Goin’ Back
07 – Lately
08 – Georgia
09 – In The Neighbourhood
10 – I Get Along Without You Very Well