Liam Gallagher – As You Were {Deluxe Edition} (2017) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Liam Gallagher – As You Were {Deluxe Edition} (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 56:36 minutes | 714 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Warner Bros. Records

As You Were is the debut studio album by English singer and songwriter Liam Gallagher. After igniting the writing process with the heavy duty soul-rock of ‘Bold’, ‘As You Were’ was recorded in two locations. Greg Kurstin performed all of the instruments on the four songs that he produced (‘Wall Of Glass’, ‘Paper Crown’, ‘Come Back To Me’ and the psychedelic whoosh of ‘It Doesn’t Have To Be That Way’), while Dan Grech-Marguerat produced the remainder of the album at Snap! Studios in London. The result is exactly what you would have hoped a Liam Gallagher solo album would sound like: the passion for the classic 60s/70s influence that he’s always had has been updated for the here and now. This Deluxe Edition features 3 additional tracks.

Always operating in the shadow of his brother Noel, Liam Gallagher had difficulty separating himself from Oasis. Maybe that’s his fault, since he retained nearly the entire lineup of Oasis for Beady Eye, the group he formed after splitting with his sibling in 2009, but that band never gained traction – which had the unfortunate side effect of slowing Liam’s momentum. He pulled the plug on Beady Eye in 2014 and spent a couple of years regrouping, re-emerging in 2017 with As You Were. The very title suggests Gallagher is picking up where Oasis left off, a sentiment that also applied to Beady Eye’s 2011 debut, Different Gear, Still Speeding, but As You Were is clean and focused in a way Liam has never been on his own. Proud classicist that he is, Gallagher doesn’t attempt to adopt a new aesthetic here, but thanks to producer Greg Kurstin – who won a boatload of Grammys through his work with Adele and has also helmed records for Foo Fighters, Tegan and Sara, Kelly Clarkson, and Elle Goulding – he does freshen up his sounds. Beady Eye attempted a similar sonic shakeup on their final album, BE, but producer Dave Sitek encouraged a hazy neo-psychedelia, which is the sonic opposite of the clean snap Kurstin brings to As You Were. Clear and modern, buttressed with slight rhythmic loops and digital manipulation, As You Were doesn’t sound retro even though it is, in essence, a throwback to a throwback – a re-articulation of Liam’s ’90s obsession with the ’60s. That production does Gallagher a favor but so does Kurstin’s presence as a co-songwriter, helping to rein in Liam’s wandering ear and sharpen his melodies. Ranging from the icy onslaught of “Wall of Glass” to the stark swirl of “Chinatown,” this is his best record in nearly a decade, and they add up to an album that illustrates exactly who Liam Gallagher is as an artist. Now in his middle age, he’s a richer, nuanced singer than he was during Oasis’ heyday, yet he’s retained his charisma and, unlike his brother, he favors color and fire in his records, elements that not only enhance this fine collection of songs but make this the best post-Oasis album from either Gallagher to date.

01 – Wall Of Glass
02 – Bold
03 – Greedy Soul
04 – Paper Crown
05 – For What It’s Worth
06 – When I’m In Need
07 – You Better Run
08 – I Get By
09 – Chinatown
10 – Come Back To Me
11 – Universal Gleam
12 – I’ve All I Need
13 – Doesn’t Have To Be That Way
14 – All My People / All Mankind
15 – I Never Wanna Be Like You