Lana Cantrell – Lana! (1968/2018) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Lana Cantrell – Lana! (1968/2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 33:59 minutes | 1,24 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RCA – Legacy

It is hard to know, upon again experiencing a sweet and long lost pleasure of youth, how much of our delight is caught in the lure of nostalgia, and what is genuinely spectacular about the artist that caused one to keep the flames of affectionate memory burning protectively throughout these so many years. With Lana, I have no doubts that it is the latter. She was always an extraordinary chanteuse, with exquisite taste in choosing the finest lyrics, arrangements, and high thoughts. Even minor musical works, once blessed and anointed by the talents of Ms. Cantrell, got the magic, and became bigger than life gems in the expansive universe of her heavenly repertoire, and fast favorites with her fanatical following.

Lana had IT the rare ability to reach out beyond the stage, the 60’s mostly black and white television screens, and the vinyl grooves of her albums, and individually touch her fans. Everyone who followed Lana felt they had a personal relationship with her, that they knew her, cared about her, and hung on her every appearance. With Lana, it was a long distance love affair with a stranger, but you wouldn’t have missed it for anything else in the world.

What a truly special person and performer. If you were a Cantrell fanatic, you remember her sweeping finishes, arms outstretched, the slight upsweep of the head flipping back her mod haircut, the little girl who could move between glamorous, sexy vamp, and upbeat child of the 60’s, in the interval of a couple of songs.

If you can listen to “Two for the Road” on this amazing collection of ballads without feeling an impossible mixture of inspiration and sadness, I’m sorry, you just don’t get it. If it doesn’t make you stop whatever you are doing and just SIT and LISTEN, surrendering completely and attentively to the powerful seduction of the Lana persona, you’ve truly missed something rare, precious, and beautiful.

The fact that this room in the pantheon of show business had to close is a sad comment on what we as a culture have lost. At least, though, we have these immortalized recordings, a tantalizing taste of what once was, in a much, much better place in music and time.

Lana, wherever you be today, love, thank you, thank you, thank you. For sharing your gifts and inspirational talent with the world, for making it all so much more worthwhile, and for the wonderful, incredible memories.

01. The Sound of Silence
02. How Can I Be Sure
03. Baby, Now That I’ve Found You
04. Honey
05. The Fool On the Hill
06. Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You
07. Gentle On My Mind
08. For Me
09. Workin’ On a Groovy Thing
10. Mine (Is a Quiet Love)
11. The Music Played (Was Ich Dir sagen will)