Kodo (鼓童) – Mondo Head (2002) {SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz}

Kodo (鼓童) – Mondo Head (2002)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 53:07 minutes | Scans included | 3,52 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | 52:41 mins | Full Scans included | 1,05 GB
Features 2.0 Stereo & 5.1 multichannel Surround sound


Kodo is a Japanese group that has become an international phenomenon, based on the island of Sado, that has taken the world by storm with their new stylings on semi-traditional taiko drumming.

Produced by world music scholar (and former Grateful Dead percussionist) Mickey Hart, Mondo Head documents a series of performances by Japanese taiko ensemble Kodo. Recorded in California and Japan across the spring and summer of 2001, the album features an airy reproduction of Kodo’s massive sound. Though taiko music is comprised predominantly of percussion instruments, Kodo’s sound is filled with the organic sounds of flutes, bells, and human voices. The result is a lushly dense melodic tangle that works in and around the meticulously marked beats, inseparable from the rhythm in places. The music is disciplined and energetic though, at times, seems far removed from the force-of-nature power the band is attempting to achieve. In places, the music sounds positively Westernized, with smooth vocal chants on the opening “Berimabu Jam” and “Maracatü,” as well as with the puzzling addition of blues harmonica player Charlie Musselwhite on “Echo Bells.” Musselwhite’s contribution fits surprisingly well in places, but often sounds like Howard Levy’s lite work with Béla Fleck and the Flecktones.

01. Berimbau Jam
02. Sange
03. Okesa Prayer
04. Wataru
05. Maracatú
06. Psychopomp
07. Daraijin
08. Oya y Ogun
09. Echo Bells
10. Kashira
11. Ektal



FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz