Kim Gordon – No Home Record (2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Kim Gordon – No Home Record (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 39:20 minutes | 840 MB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Matador

Not many people wait until they’re 66 years old to bring out their debut album. Even though Kim Gordon has a CV that’s 15 km long, Sonic Youth’s bassist and singer has never taken the time so express herself as a completely solo act – until now. The aptly named No Home Record (a nod towards Chental Akerman’s No Home Movie which explores the director’s relationship with her mother, an Auschwitz survivor) is the fruit of a life spent in music. The no wave/punk DNA of Sonic Youth’s music remains intact here, though it also adapts to the times with touches of electronic music. This beautifully genre-less album goes through many different styles: rock noise sequences, dark and industrial ambient tracks, avant-garde songs, mystical ballads, we could go on… Yet despite all this eclecticism, No Home Record (a record produced by Justin Raisen – behind Angel Olsen, Yves Tumor, John Cale, Charli XCX – and recorded at the Sphere Ranch in Los Angeles) can still be considered an entity. It’s a work chaperoned and carried by the lady of the house’ incomparable voice, one that sings (or speaks?) with uncompromising desolation. -Marc Zisman


1. Sketch Artist (02:52)
2. Air BnB (04:11)
3. Paprika Pony (04:09)
4. Murdered Out (03:34)
5. Don’t Play It (04:48)
6. Cookie Butter (06:26)
7. Hungry Baby (03:41)
8. Earthquake (04:19)
9. Get Yr Life Back (05:25)